One of the top ten genealogical libraries in the nation. This History Research Center houses a national and international collection of family history research materials in print, microprint and online. Part of the Houston Public Library system.
The Vietnam Center and Archive collects and preserves the documentary record of the Vietnam War, and supports and encourages research and education regarding all aspects of the American Vietnam Experience. The archive has collected millions of pages of material and tens of thousands of photographs, slides, maps, periodicals, audio, moving images, and books related to the Vietnam War, Indochina, and the impact of the war on the United States and Southeast Asia.
Digitized collection consisting of forty-one volumes of documents (plus supplements) on diplomatic history of the U.S. in the twentieth century. Volumes are organized by region and date. The collection includes a useful search engine.
The Portal links researchers to archival materials consisting of descriptions of records and, in many cases, digital images of the records that relate to cultural property that was stolen, looted, seized, forcibly sold, or otherwise lost during the Nazi era. These records, which are in many different languages, include Nazi documentation, governmental records from 1933 onwards, inventories of recovered artworks, post-war claims records and auction house and art dealer records.
This list contains over 250 libraries and archives that focus mainly on localized, regional, and U.S. history, but it also includes larger collections, eText and eBook repositories, and a short list of directories to help you continue your research efforts.
The sites listed on this OEDb article are mainly open access, which means that the digital formats are viewable and usable by the general public.
A structured and controlled list of object terms organized in a classification system to provide a basis for indexing and cataloging collections of human-made objects. The Nomenclature is a collaboration between several Canadian and U.S. organizations, including the American Association for State and Local History (AASLH). It has a searchable and top-down selection approach for locating the correct terms of the mediums for artifacts (mostly used for museum cataloging of museum artifacts. It pulls from a number of public history controlled vocabularies and provides the citation for the appropriate vocabulary taken from, such as the Getty Art and Architecture Thesaurus (used by archives for archival format terminology).
A more accessible glossary for various museum artifact formats and mediums terminology. The manual has a “Glossary of Production Methods,” which provides standard material format terms with short definitions, like lacquer. It also has a “Glossary of Materials,” which provides description of the medium that makes up the artifacts.
Society of American Archivists Dictionary of Archives Terminology is the foremost reference on the archival lexicon. Entries draw primarily from the professional literature in the United States and Canada. It provides the proper terms, definitions, and sometimes examples for different meanings for common terms and formats within archives and archival collections. For example, it provides the various definitions and differences between a record and a document