Selected Primary Source Databases and Collections
- American State Papers This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Readex Digital Collections. Primary sources on many aspects of early American history from 1789 to 1838; largely Congressional but also containing Executive Department materials.
- Revolution in Mexico, the 1917 Constitution, and its Aftermath Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
U.S. State Department records consisting of political and military documents relating to the Mexican Revolution and its aftermath, 1910-1924
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text House and Senate publications from the 15th - 96th Congress (1817-1980)
For more primary source databases, see the History subject guide.
- American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of American magazines, journals, and newspapers that began publication between 1740-1940; coverage ends in June 1943; includes page view - New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1851-2015; includes page view - Wall Street Journal (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1889-2001; full text of the Eastern edition; includes page view
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersSearch America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
- Texas Digital Newspaper ProgramThe Texas Digital Newspaper Program (TDNP) partners with communities, publishers, and institutions to promote standards-based digitization of Texas newspapers and to make them freely accessible via The Portal to Texas History.
- USC Libraries, Primary Sources Search StrategiesOffers strategies for conducting pre-research on a topic, limiting keyword searching to the relevant time period, and using descriptive primary source keywords to find primary sources.
- Yale University, Primary Sources Search StrategiesProvides an overview of adaptable search strategies for catalogs, databases, and citation tracing.
Find Primary Sources in Academic Search Complete
The search shown below for Thomas Jefferson as author and a publication type limiter for primary source document would find inaugural addresses and letters. When searching for primary source documents, look also for document type limiters such as speech or interview.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals in a wide range of subjects, plus magazines, reports, books, and more