Research Guides: PSYC / SWRK 4370: Nonexperimental Methods and Statistics: Home

Welcome

This guide is intended to lay out research tools and resources to assist you with your projects and assignments throughout Nonexperimental Methods and Statistics. Sometimes knowing which resources are available for your program or course, and how to use them, can feel overwhelming and daunting with so many tools at your disposal. This guide will help you navigate the library resources best suited for your course, no matter if you are a distance learner, or in person.

In this guide you will find:

► Books & eBooks

► Citation & Writing Help

► Open Access Resources

► Research Databases & Journals (located below)

► Research Help

► Videos & Streaming Media

Please try our Psychology Guide if these resources do not provide what you are looking for.

Don't Forget

Use your UHCL ID card to borrow books and other materials, and your UHCL Login credentials to access online material.

One Search

OneSearch

Advanced Search

Subject Databases
Reference Resources

Subject Databases

A subject database is a database that pulls information from a variety of journals and sources on a specific subject matter. Many of these databases will search more than just journal articles, and dissertations or theses, you will also find items such as newspaper articles, book reviews, court cases, and magazine articles.

If you don't see a database here that you are looking for try out A to Z Database page.

APA PsycBOOKS This link opens in a new window
Full text chapters from books published by APA and other scholarly publishers
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
American Psychological Association (APA) content with selected full text articles from approximately 2,500 journals, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, and more
APA PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
Primarily full text measures and scales, most of which include permission for use in research and teaching
DSM-5 Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th ed., plus related Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, Clinical Cases, and Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria (Spanish ed.)
Family Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from major journals and sources in family studies, marriage, divorce, and family therapy
Gale OneFile: Psychology This link opens in a new window
Find authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for journal articles and proceedings of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology; includes full text of active IEEE standards
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (sometimes delayed for six months or more) for approximately 400 journals in psychology and related fields
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals in sociology and related areas of history, anthropology, social work, political science, psychology, and law

Reference Resources

Reference resources summarize topics, provide background information, as well as aid you in finding other resources or literature on the subject matter. These resources can also be used for quick facts, statistics, or learning specific vocabulary, and contain bibliographies for further reading. When you are not sure where to get started with your research, using a reference source can help you explore a variety of topics to help you gauge interest, or compatibility with your assignment without having to spend too much time searching.

APA Topics
Major areas of current psychological research

APA Dictionary of Psychology
2015 (also in Reference BF31 .A65 2015)
APA Dictionary of Statistics and Research Methods
Reference BF76.5 .A72 2014

Counseling & Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives & Reference Works This link opens in a new window
Provides "...transcripts of counseling and therapy sessions and first-person narratives..., as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material."