Research Guides: Physics: Articles & Journals

Find Articles in Research Databases

arXiv.org This link opens in a new window
Open-access archive for e-print research papers in physics, mathematics, computer science, and more
INSPIRE This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, papers, preprints, and more on high energy physics; upgraded version of SPIRES (Stanford Physics Information Retrieval System)
APS Journals (American Physical Society) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text
IOP Science (Institute of Physics) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from physics-related journals; includes indexing for ProQuest Dissertations and Theses results
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles and references from journals in science, the social sciences, and art and humanities; selected full text available via Find It @ UHCL; results can be sorted by times cited; use Cited Reference search to find works that cite an earlier article or publication

Astrophysics Data System (ADS) Digital Library
Operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The SAO/NASA ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 9.4 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-prints.
Mathematical Physics Preprint Archive
Archive beginning in 1991 of preprints in mathematical physcis, hosted at the University of Texas.

Depending on your topic, these databases may be relevant. If needed, see more choices in Databases A-Z.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals in a wide range of subjects, plus magazines, reports, books, and more
ACS Publications (American Chemical Society) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for most ACS journals and their supplementary materials
General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from popular science magazines, professional journals, and the New York Times Science Section
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations on North American geology dating from 1693 and world geography since 1933 found in geoscience journal articles, books, maps, and more; selected full text via Find It @ UHCL
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for journal articles and proceedings of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology; includes full text of active IEEE standards
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals in science, engineering, and technology; plus conference proceedings, reports, books, and more
Science and Technology Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals, trade, and popular magazines covering scientific and technical fields
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from Elsevier journals in the physical sciences/engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences/humanities
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals, technical reports, books, and more in chemistry, biology, biotechnology, and engineering; first-time user registration required
SciFinder-n registration for first-time users This link opens in a new window
UHCL email address required

Using SciFinder

SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles on natural science, engineering and technology, from scholarly, trade, and industry journals, technical reports, and proceedings
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for journal articles, books, and reference works published by Springer
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for journal articles and books published by Wiley

Sample searches:
characteristics of heat transfer in microchannel heat sinks
"casson fluid flow"
"fluid flow" AND microstructures
"fluid flow" AND (micro* OR nano*)
Refine your search with filters on results screen: scholarly & peer-review, full text online, etc.

While it doesn't offer some of the sophisticated options available in research databases, Google Scholar can be helpful. See instructions for customizing Google Scholar to provide Full Text @ UHCL links in results.

Most research databases allow you to limit searches to articles in peer-reviewed journals. A peer-reviewed (or refereed) journal:

uses experts from the same subject field or profession as the author to evaluate a manuscript prior to acceptance for publication
has articles that report on research studies or provide scholarly analysis of topics
may include book reviews, editorials, or other brief items that are not considered scholarly articles

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
Explains key elements from the first & last page of a typical scholarly or academic article. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

Peer Review in 3 Minutes

(3:15) Explains the academic publishing process for research articles and scholarly journals, including the quality control process of peer review. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

Get Full Text for an Article

If a database lacks immediate full text, click Find It @ UHCL in results to check for full text from another source. Follow Available Online links in OneSearch to a resource with full text for UH Clear Lake users as shown below.

If full text is not found, submit an article request.

Request a book, article, or other item
ILLiad Interlibrary Loan logon
Locating Full Text Articles and Journals

Find Out if the Library Has a Specific Journal

Journals
List
Journal
Abbreviations

CASSI (CAS Source Index)
All that JAS (Journal Abbreviations Sources)
JAbbr : Decipher your journal abbreviations
From Cornell University. Provides matches to your search.
Web of Science Journal Title Abbreviations
list shows the abbreviations used for journal titles as cited works

Get an Article from a Citation

Sample citation:
Hunter, C.R., R. Klein, R. S. Beanlands, and R. A. deKemp, 2016, "Patient motion effects on the quantification of regional myocardial blood flow with dynamic PET imaging," Med. Phys. 43, 1829-1840.

Use OneSearch to look for a DOI (digital object identifier). If there's no DOI, search for an "exact phrase" from the article title. Add an author name if needed. Examples:

doi:10.1118/1.4943565
"patient motion effects on the quantification"
"patient motion effects on the quantification" AND hunter

If an article isn't available online, submit an article request.

Request a book, article, or other item
ILLiad Interlibrary Loan logon