Find Articles in Research Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals in a wide range of subjects, plus magazines, reports, books, and more
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for journal articles, books, and conference proceedings on agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, pollution, and affiliated areas of study - MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from biomedical and related journals, with clinical guidelines and more from the National Library of Medicine
- PubMed (UHCL) This link opens in a new windowIncludes UHCL subscriptions; off-campus access restricted to UHCL users; indexes "biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books" with selected full text
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from Elsevier journals in the physical sciences/engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences/humanities
Depending on your topic, these databases also may be relevant.
- ACS Publications (American Chemical Society) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for most ACS journals and their supplementary materials - Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles for English-language journals, reports, conference papers, etc., in engineering, acoustics, chemistry, computers, metallurgy, physics, plastics, telecommunications, transportation, waste management, and more - CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from nursing and allied health journals; includes Continuing Education modules, Evidence-Based Care Sheets, and Quick Lessons (concise overviews of diseases, conditions and their treatment options) - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Primarily full text for news sources from around the world, including broadcast transcripts, plus law review journals, statutory, case law, and other legal resources, company and industry information, and more
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles and references from journals in science, the social sciences, and art and humanities; selected full text available via Find It @ UHCL; results can be sorted by times cited; use Cited Reference search to find works that cite an earlier article or publication
Sample searches:
"critical thinking" AND "higher education"
(race OR racial) AND (discriminat* OR prejudic*)
Refine your search with filters on results screen: scholarly & peer-review, full text online, etc.
While it doesn't offer some of the sophisticated options available in research databases, Google Scholar can be helpful. See instructions for customizing Google Scholar to provide Full Text @ UHCL links in results.
A peer-reviewed (or refereed) journal:
- uses experts from the same subject field or profession as the author to evaluate a manuscript prior to acceptance for publication
- has articles that report on research studies or provide scholarly analysis of topics
- may include book reviews, editorials, or other brief items that are not considered scholarly articles
- Anatomy of a Scholarly ArticleExplains key elements from the first & last page of a typical scholarly or academic article. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries
(3:15) Explains the academic publishing process for research articles and scholarly journals, including the quality control process of peer review. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries
Basic Search Tips for Most Catalogs and Databases
Find more (broaden your results) with OR and wildcards:
cat or cats or feline*
[finds cat, cats, feline, or felines]
Find less (narrow your results) with AND:
dogs and obedience training
Find less with NOT:
toys not poodles
Find less by selecting limiters (peer-reviewed, date, etc.).
Tutorials: Finding Scholarly Articles on Your Topic
These tutorials include practice in Neumann Library web-based resources and self-quiz questions to help you check your understanding.
- Step 1: Choose a Relevant Research DatabaseLearn how to find subject-specific and other research databases in Databases A-Z and library research guides
- Step 2: Create an Effective First SearchLearn how to choose keywords and how to use logical operators, wildcards, basic limiters, and more
- Step 3: Critically Review and Refine Search ResultsLearn how to identify scholarly articles and to find and use database subject terms, field, and other specialized limiters
See also:
- Scholarly vs. Popular Articles(3:05) Distinguishes characteristics of scholarly articles/journals from those of popular articles/magazines. White Library, Spring Arbor Univ.
