Reference Works Can Help You...
- find overviews or introductions to a subject
- identify possible directions for a topic you're exploring
- put a narrow topic into context
- identify facts, names, dates, etc.
Find Background Information in Mathematic Specific Resources
- Wolfram Functions SiteCollection of formulas and graphics about mathematical functions.
- Oxford English DictionaryDefines and illustrates through quotations the use of English language words from the earliest known occurance to the present day. A landmark historical resource.
- Biographies of Women MathematiciansPart of an on-going project at Agnes Scott College in Atlanta, Georgia, to illustrate the numerous achievements of women in the field of mathematics.
- Catalog of the Scientific Community in the 16th and 17th CenturiesA collection of 631 detailed biographies on members of the scientific community during the 16th and 17th centuries, with vital facts about each individual and their contributions to science. One hundred sixty-four entries in the database claim mathematics as their primary scientific discipline.
- Combined Membership List (AMA, MAA, SIAM and AMATYC)The Combined Membership List (CML) includes the names and addresses of all persons who were members of the American Mathematical Society (AMS), Mathematical Association of America (MAA), Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM), or American Mathematical Association of Two-Year Colleges (AMATYC) as of the last update. The CML is updated daily.
- Mathematics Genealogy ProjectA service of the NDSU Department of Mathematics, in association with the American Mathematical Society. "The intent of this project is to compile information about ALL the mathematicians of this planet!"
Find More Background Information
- Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Gale’s eBook platform provides comprehensive support from many of today’s top publishers.
- Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowCurrent social issue topic overviews, including pro/con viewpoint essays, academic journal and news/magazine articles, images, videos, statistics, and more
- Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new windowFull text overviews of diverse subjects, including ancient warfare, climate, consciousness, economics, game theory, Islamic history, literary theory, privacy, and more from Oxford Univ. Press
- Gale in Context: Science This link opens in a new windowCurrent scientific topic overviews, including selected full text for journal and news/magazine articles, images, videos, interactive data maps, and more
- Britannica This link opens in a new windowFull text academic edition of Encyclopedia Britannica and Merriam-Webster Dictionary; includes video and audio clips
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowLandmark historical resource that defines and illustrates through quotations the use of English language words from earliest known occurrence to present
Related research guide:
- Resources for StatisticsFind statistical data from government websites and other recommended sources
Using Advanced Search in OneSearch:
- select UHCL Books and Media
- enter desired subject terms (e.g., chemistry OR biochemistry) in the first text entry box
- enter encyclopedia OR dictionary in the next
- click Search
You may wish to change Sort by from Relevance to Date-newest in your results as shown below.
