Healthcare Administration: Articles & Journals

Library resources for research and study in Healthcare Administration

Find Articles in Research Databases

Depending on your topic, these databases also may be relevant.



Advanced Search

Sample searches:
   "critical thinking" AND "higher education"
   (race OR racial) AND (discriminat* OR prejudic*)
Refine your search with filters on results screen: scholarly and peer-review, full text online, etc.

While it doesn't offer some of the sophisticated options available in research databases, Google Scholar can be helpful. See instructions for customizing Google Scholar to provide Full Text @ UHCL links in results.

A peer-reviewed (or refereed) journal:

  • uses experts from the same subject field or profession as the author to evaluate a manuscript prior to acceptance for publication
  • has articles that report on research studies or provide scholarly analysis of topics
  • may include book reviews, editorials, or other brief items that are not considered scholarly articles

Tip: When you need scholarly articles, it helps to use database limiters for peer-reviewed or refereed journals. 

Peer Review in 3 Minutes

(3:15) Explains the academic publishing process for research articles and scholarly journals, including the quality control process of peer review. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

Loading ...

Journals in Your Discipline

This is a selection of health administration journals. Most can be accessed through one search in Business Source Complete. Asterisk indicates a peer-reviewed (or refereed) journal.

If you don't find a desired journal in the scrolling list, search for it in the full Journals List:

 

 

Get Full Text for an Article

If a database lacks immediate full text, click Find It @ UHCL in results to check for full text from another source. Follow Available Online links in OneSearch to a resource with full text for UH Clear Lake users as shown below.

Shows Find It at UHCL leading to full text in EBSCOhost PsycARTICLES

If full text is not found, submit an article request.

Get an Article from a Known Citation

Sample citation:
Robbins, B. G. (2016). Probing the links between trustworthiness, trust, and emotion: Evidence from four survey experiments. Social Psychology Quarterly, 79, 284-308. doi:10.1177/0190272516657546

Use OneSearch to look for a DOI (digital object identifier). If there's no DOI, search for an "exact phrase" from the article title. Add an author name if needed. Examples:

  • 10.1177/0190272516657546
  • "links between trustworthiness trust and emotion"
  • "links between trustworthiness trust and emotion" robbins


As an alternative, or to check if the library has paper copy, search the title of the journal (e.g., social psychology quarterly) in the Journals List search box below:

Find journals by journal title or ISSN


If an article isn't available online, submit an article request.

Bayou Building 2402, 2700 Bay Area Blvd, Houston, TX 77058-1002