Find Articles in Research Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals in a wide range of subjects, plus magazines, reports, books, and more
- Business Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from business-related magazines and journals
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals, magazines, and trade publications, including industry and country reports, MarketLine company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines, government reports, and books on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new windowSelected full text for journal articles, books, and reference works published by Springer
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowSelected full text for journal articles and books published by Wiley
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primarily full text (excluding most recent 3 - 5 years) for journal articles in the humanities, social sciences, statistics, and mathematics - NLM Gateway (National Library of Medicine) This link opens in a new windowIndexes NLM Meeting Abstracts relevant to AIDS, health services, and space life sciences through 2010
Depending on your topic, these databases also may be relevant.
Find Background Information for a Topic
- Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Gale’s eBook platform provides comprehensive support from many of today’s top publishers.
- Britannica This link opens in a new windowFull text academic edition of Encyclopedia Britannica and Merriam-Webster Dictionary; includes video and audio clips
- Data.govAccess to many US national datasets
- Encyclopedia of EarthElectronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and society's interactions.
Sample searches:
"critical thinking" AND "higher education"
(race OR racial) AND (discriminat* OR prejudic*)
Refine your search with filters on results screen: scholarly & peer-review, full text online, etc.
While it doesn't offer some of the sophisticated options available in research databases, Google Scholar can be helpful. See instructions for customizing Google Scholar to provide Full Text @ UHCL links in results.
A peer-reviewed (or refereed) journal:
- uses experts from the same subject field or profession as the author to evaluate a manuscript prior to acceptance for publication
- has articles that report on research studies or provide scholarly analysis of topics
- may include book reviews, editorials, or other brief items that are not considered scholarly articles
- Anatomy of a Scholarly ArticleExplains key elements from the first & last page of a typical scholarly or academic article. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries
Peer Review in 3 Minutes
(3:15) Explains the academic publishing process for research articles and scholarly journals, including the quality control process of peer review. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries
- Scholarly vs. Popular Articles(3:05) Distinguishes characteristics of scholarly articles/journals from those of popular articles/magazines. White Library, Spring Arbor Univ.
Get Full Text for an Article
If a database lacks immediate full text, click Find It @ UHCL in results to check for full text from another source. Follow Available Online links in OneSearch to a resource with full text for UH Clear Lake users as shown below.
If full text is not found, submit an article request.
- Request a book, article, or other itemILLiad Interlibrary Loan logon
