Find Articles in Research Databases
- BioOne This link opens in a new windowSelected full text articles from approximately 80 journals and bulletins in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences published by the American Institute of Biological Sciences
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowIdentifies articles and references from journals in science, the social sciences, and art and humanities; selected full text available via Find It @ UHCL; results can be sorted by times cited; use Cited Reference search to find works that cite an earlier article or publication
- MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from biomedical and related journals, with clinical guidelines and more from the National Library of Medicine
- TOXNET (TOXicology Data NETwork) This link opens in a new windowTOXNET has moved. As part of a broader NLM reorganization, most of NLM's toxicology information services have been integrated into other NLM products and services. National Library of Medicine index to toxicology information from multiple biomedical, chemical, and environmental health databases
Depending on your topic, these databases also may be relevant.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines, government reports, and books on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more
- Biological & Agricultural Index Plus This link opens in a new windowSelected full text articles from popular and professional scientific journals
- NLM Gateway (National Library of Medicine) This link opens in a new windowIndexes NLM Meeting Abstracts relevant to AIDS, health services, and space life sciences through 2010
- AGRICOLA (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
National Agricultural Library's book catalog and journal article citation index (selected full text via EBSCOhost)
Sample searches:
"critical thinking" AND "higher education"
(race OR racial) AND (discriminat* OR prejudic*)
Refine your search with filters on results screen: scholarly & peer-review, full text online, etc.
While it doesn't offer some of the sophisticated options available in research databases, Google Scholar can be helpful. See instructions for customizing Google Scholar to provide Full Text @ UHCL links in results.
A peer-reviewed (or refereed) journal:
- uses experts from the same subject field or profession as the author to evaluate a manuscript prior to acceptance for publication
- has articles that report on research studies or provide scholarly analysis of topics
- may include book reviews, editorials, or other brief items that are not considered scholarly articles
- Anatomy of a Scholarly ArticleExplains key elements from the first & last page of a typical scholarly or academic article. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries
(3:15) Explains the academic publishing process for research articles and scholarly journals, including the quality control process of peer review. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries
Get Full Text for an Article
If a database lacks immediate full text, click Find It @ UHCL in results to check for full text from another source. Follow Available Online links in OneSearch to a resource with full text for UH Clear Lake users as shown below.
If full text is not found, submit an article request.
- Request a book, article, or other itemILLiad Interlibrary Loan logon
