Research Guides: Biological Sciences: Background Information

Find overviews or introductions to a subject in encyclopedias and some specialized dictionaries and handbooks. Reference works may help you put into context a narrow topic on which you're working or help you identify possible directions for a topic you're exploring. They'll also help you identify facts, names, dates, etc.

Some useful multivolumes reference works in the Biological Sciences are:

Biology (Gale Virtual Reference Library) 4 vols.
Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography (Gale Virtual Reference Library) 27 volumes
Gale Encyclopedia of Science
Genetics (Gale Virtual Reference Library) 4 vols.
Grzimek's animal life encyclopedia 17 vols.
Encyclopedia of Bioethics 5 volumes
Encyclopedia of life sciences 13 vols.
Plant Sciences (Gale Virtual Reference Library) 2 vols.
World of microbiology and immunology 2 vols.

The following list of resources are openly available on the internet and published by reputable organizations:

All About Birds (Cornell Lab of Ornithology)
A guide to birds, bird watching, bird cams, and more
BioMed Central
Provides open access to over 200 peer reviewed STM journals.
BiosciEdNet (BEN)
Provides seamless access to e-resources and serves as a catalyst for strengthening teaching and learning in the biological sciences.
Encyclopedia of Life (EOL)
An online reference source and database intended to include every one of the 1.8 million species that are named and known on this planet.
Genome.gov
Through National Human Genome Research Institute, contains information for Human Gernome Project, ethical and legal issues of genetic research, funding & grant opportunities, educational resources, genetic testing information, talking glossary, etc.
JSTOR Plant Science
Provides access to plant type specimens, taxonomic structures, scientific literature, and related materials.
NCBI Genome
National Center for Biotehcnology Information, provides good resources on genomes including maps, chromosomes, assembiles and annotations.
PubMed Central (PMC)
PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Science Daily
This award-winning site provided breaking news on science discoveries, providing more than 65,000 research articles, 15,000 images, 2500 encyclopedia entries, 1500 book reviews, and hundreds of educational videos.

Featured Titles

Brenner's Encyclopedia of Genetics by Stanley Maloy (Editor); Kelly Hughes (Editor) The explosion of the field of genetics over the last decade, with the new technologies that have stimulated research, suggests that a new sort of reference work is needed to keep pace with such a fast-moving and interdisciplinary field.  Brenner's Encyclopedia of Genetics, Second Edition, Seven Volume Set, builds on the foundation of the first edition by addressing many of the key subfields of genetics that were just in their infancy when the first edition was published. The currency and accessibility of this foundational content will be unrivalled, making this work useful for scientists and non-scientists alike. Featuring relatively short entries on genetics topics written by experts in that topic, Brenner's Encyclopedia of Genetics, Second Edition, Seven Volume Set provides an effective way to quickly learn about any aspect of genetics, from Abortive Transduction to Zygotes. Adding to its utility, the work provides short entries that briefly define key terms, and a guide to additional reading and relevant websites for further study. Many of the entries include figures to explain difficult concepts. Key terms in related areas such as biochemistry, cell, and molecular biology are also included, and there are entries that describe historical figures in genetics, providing insights into their careers and discoveries.
ISBN: 0123749840
Publication Date: 2013-02-27
Handbook of Marine Natural Products by Ernesto Fattorusso (Editor); William H. Gerwick (Editor); Orazio Taglialatela-Scafati (Editor) "Handbook of Marine Natural Products" takes a fresh approach to describing the major themes of research in this rapidly developing field. This two volume reference work begins with a section that provides a taxonomic survey of the secondary metabolites of diverse marine life including microbes, algae, and invertebrates. This is followed by a demonstration of the techniques and strategies employed in modern structure elucidation of complex natural products. The natural roles of marine natural products are then explored in a series of focused chapters which include the topics of symbiosis, anti-predation and antifouling, chemical interactions, and defence against UV stress. Various routes which facilitate the understanding of marine natural product biosynthesis are subsequently explained and these are followed by an extensive set of chapters on the biomedical potential of marine natural products. The latter portion of this section considers the technologies and scientific disciplines necessary for advancing bioactive marine natural product lead compounds into actual pharmaceuticals. The reference work finishes with a selection of chapters describing marine toxins and their impact on public health and seafood resources. Final thoughts presented at the end of the second volume focus on the future of this field of investigation and discovery research. This publication is presented as a reference handbook and general concepts are emphasized and illustrated with numerous interesting examples, graphical information, and a comprehensive index. "Handbook of Marine Natural Products" introduces students who are at advanced undergraduate and entry graduate student levels to this fascinating multidisciplinary field. It is an ideal desk companion  for courses focusing on this contemporary area.
ISBN: 9789048138333
Publication Date: 2012-04-21
Environmental Biotechnology: Principles and Applications, Second Edition by Bruce E. Rittmann; Perry L. McCarty Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The classic environmental biotechnology textbook--fully updated for the latest advances This thoroughly revised educational resource presents the biological principles that underlie modern microbiological treatment technologies. Written by two of the field's foremost researchers, Environmental Biotechnology: Principles and Applications, Second Edition, clearly explains the new technologies that have evolved over the past 20 years, including direct anaerobic treatments, membrane-based processes, and granular processes. The first half of the book focuses on theory and tools; the second half offers practical applications that are clearly illustrated through real-world examples. Coverage includes: * Moving toward sustainability * Basics of microbiology * Biochemistry, metabolism, genetics, and information flow * Microbial ecology * Stoichiometry and energetics * Microbial kinetics and products * Biofilm kinetics * Reactor characteristics and kinetics * Methanogenesis * Aerobic suspended-growth processes * Aerobic biofilm processes * Nitrogen transformation and recovery * Phosphorus removal and recovery * Biological treatment of drinking water
ISBN: 1260441601
Publication Date: 2020-03-03
Dictionary of DNA and Genome Technology by Paul Singleton
ISBN: 9781118447567
Publication Date: 2012-10-08
McGraw-Hill dictionary of bioscience
ebook
The dictionary of environmental microbiology by Linda D. Stetzenbach, Marylynn V. Yates
Call Number: QR100 .S74 2003 (Reference area)
ISBN: 9786612684784

QH	General Biology
Qk	Botany
QL	Zoology
QM	Human Anatomy
QP	Physiology
QR	Microbiology
S	Agriculture
TP	Chemical Technology, Biotechnology