Gale Encyclopedia of Science by
"Aligned with national science standards and high school science curricula. Covers all major umbrellas of science, engineering, technology, mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology"
Encyclopedia of the Solar System
The Encyclopedia of the Solar System, Third Edition--winner of the 2015 PROSE Award in Cosmology & Astronomy from the Association of American Publishers--provides a framework for understanding the origin and evolution of the solar system, historical discoveries, and details about planetary bodies and how they interact--with an astounding breadth of content and breathtaking visual impact. The encyclopedia includes the latest explorations and observations, hundreds of color digital images and illustrations, and over 1,000 pages. It stands alone as the definitive work in this field, and will serve as a modern messenger of scientific discovery and provide a look into the future of our solar system. New additions to the third edition reflect the latest progress and growth in the field, including past and present space missions to the terrestrial planets, the outer solar systems and space telescopes used to detect extrasolar planets. Winner of the 2015 PROSE Award in Cosmology & Astronomy from the Association of American Publishers Presents 700 full-color digital images and diagrams from current space missions and observatories, bringing to life the content and aiding in the understanding and retention of key concepts. Includes a substantial appendix containing data on planetary missions, fundamental data of relevance for planets and satellites, and a glossary, providing immediately accessible mission data for ease of use in conducting further research or for use in presentations and instruction. Contains an extensive bibliography, providing a guide for deeper studies into broader aspects of the field and serving as an excellent entry point for graduate students aiming to broaden their study of planetary science.
Encyclopedia of the History of Astronomy and Astrophysics
This comprehensive Encyclopedia covers the full history of astronomy from its ancient origins in Africa, South America, the Middle East and China to the latest developments in astrophysics and space-based research. The initial articles, which are largely organised chronologically, are followed by numerous thematic historical articles on the constituents of the Solar System, types of stars, stellar evolution, active galaxies, cosmology and much more. These are followed by articles on tools and techniques, from the history of spectroscopy to adaptive optics. The last part of the Encyclopedia is devoted to the history of ground- and space-based telescopes and observatories, covering the full spectral range from gamma-rays through the optical waveband to radio waves. Informative and accessibly written, each article is followed by an extensive bibliography to facilitate further research, whilst consistent coverage from ancient times to the present makes this an ideal resource for scholars, students and amateur astronomers alike.
History of Astronomy: An Encyclopedia
This Encyclopedia traces the history of the oldest science from the ancient world to the space age in over 300 entries by leading experts.
Encyclopedia of Space and Astronomy
Encyclopedia of Space and Astronomy covers this timely and popular topic in a clear, comprehensive manner. Offering a complete presentation of the main concepts, terms, facilities, and people in astronomy, the encyclopedia pays special attention to space-based astronomy and space exploration. Broad coverage includes terms such as astrophysics, planetary science, and cosmology, as well as both American and international astronomy and space technology. Containing more than 3,000 cross-referenced entries and 15 essays, as well as approximately 250 black-and-white photographs and line illustrations, this authoritative reference provides students and teachers with a visually stimulating learning experience. Encyclopedia of Space and Astronomy focuses mainly on modern astronomy and space achievements but also includes the most important accomplishments of classical astronomy. The impact of astronomy, astrophysics, and cosmology is presented in terms of the development of the scientific method and also with respect to philosophy. History-related entries trace the evolution of astronomy and space technology from ancient times, and selected entries discuss important observatories and organizations such as NASA, as well as contemporary events. This volume also includes five helpful appendixes—a bibliography of print resources, an extensive list of Web sites, a chronology of significant events in space and astronomy, a table of basic planetary data, and an interesting breakdown on how planets and other celestial bodies were named—as well as an extensive index. Entries include: Apollo Project Black hole Center of gravity Dark matter General relativity International Space Station Kepler's laws Lunar bases and settlements Nuclear reactor Pioneer 10, 11 spacecraft Robotics in space Rocket Satellite Unidentified flying object (UFO) X-rayastronomy zodiac.
| Bayou Building 2402, 2700 Bay Area Blvd, Houston, TX 77058-1002 |
