Research Guides: Astronomy: Articles & Journals

Find Articles in Research Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals in a wide range of subjects, plus magazines, reports, books, and more
IOP Science (Institute of Physics) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from physics-related journals; includes indexing for ProQuest Dissertations and Theses results
SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles on natural science, engineering and technology, from scholarly, trade, and industry journals, technical reports, and proceedings
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles and references from journals in science, the social sciences, and art and humanities; selected full text available via Find It @ UHCL; results can be sorted by times cited; use Cited Reference search to find works that cite an earlier article or publication

Find a complete list of library research databases in Databases A-Z.

Sample searches:
"sun" AND "earth"
(comet OR meteorite) AND (astronom* OR planet*)
Select limiters (articles from scholarly publications, date, etc.) on results screen

While it doesn't offer some of the sophisticated options available in research databases, Google Scholar can be helpful. See instructions for customizing Google Scholar to provide Full Text @ UHCL links in results.

A peer-reviewed (or refereed) journal:

uses experts from the same subject field or profession as the author to evaluate a manuscript prior to acceptance for publication
has articles that report on research studies or provide scholarly analysis of topics
may include book reviews, editorials, or other brief items that are not considered scholarly articles

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
Explains key elements from the first & last page of a typical scholarly or academic article. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

Peer Review in 3 Minutes

(3:15) Explains the academic publishing process for research articles and scholarly journals, including the quality control process of peer review. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

Get Full Text for an Article

If a database lacks immediate full text, click Find It @ UHCL in results to check for full text from another source. Follow Available Online links in OneSearch to a resource with full text for UH Clear Lake users as shown below.

If full text is not found, submit an article request.

Request a book, article, or other item
ILLiad Interlibrary Loan logon
Locating Full Text Articles and Journals

Find out if the library has a journal

When you already have a citation to an article or want to know whether the library has a specific journal, search here for the journal title.

What is Peer Review?

A peer-reviewed (or refereed) journal uses experts from the same subject field or profession as the author to evaluate a manuscript prior to its acceptance for publication.

Note: Peer-reviewed journals may include book reviews, editorials, or other brief items that are not considered scholarly articles.

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
Explains key elements from the first & last page of a typical scholarly or academic article. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

Tutorials: Finding Scholarly Articles on Your Topic

These tutorials include practice in Neumann Library web-based resources and self-quiz questions to help you check your understanding.

Step 1: Choose a Relevant Research Database
Learn how to find subject-specific and other research databases in Databases A-Z and library research guides
Step 2: Create an Effective First Search
Learn how to choose keywords and how to use logical operators, wildcards, basic limiters, and more
Step 3: Critically Review and Refine Search Results
Learn how to identify scholarly articles and to find and use database subject terms, field, and other specialized limiters