Find Books & Ebooks
Sample searches:
how to write a resume
"accounting principles"
vocational guidance
Refine your search with filters on results screen: books, peer-reviewed journals, available online, etc.
Sample detailed record:
- Use action icons to capture a draft citation or export to EndNote Web or EndNote desktop (RIS)
- After signing in, use Request under Get It to place a "hold" on an out-of-library item or transfer an item from another campus
- Note campus/library, availability, location within library, and classification number
- Expand location information for more details on available copies and loan period
- Ebooks are included in the Library Catalog
- The databases below offer additional options, including full-text searching
- Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Ebooks in business, economics, computer science, humanities, life and physical sciences, social and behavioral sciences, technology, and more; formerly called Ebrary - Ebook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Ebooks on a wide range of subjects, primarily academic in focus, and mostly in English; also includes some works of fiction
Ebook Help: Downloading Ebooks from Library Databases
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowIdentifies books and media in libraries from around the world
- Usually provides snippets or previews
- Includes full text if a book is not under copyright protection
If you find a book in WorldCat, Google Books, or some other source:
- Search for it in OneSearch
- If UHCL doesn't have an available copy but another UH library does, sign in and use Request under Get It
- Or submit a Book Request via ILLiad, and we will contact more libraries
Find Dissertations & Theses
- Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Describes doctoral dissertations and master's theses; includes full text for most added since 1997 - Dissertations & Theses @ University of Houston-Clear Lake This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Written by UHCL graduates; selected full text - OpenDissertations This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1900's to present; primarily full text via links in detailed record view to institutional repositories
Dissertations and theses...
- written since 2008 usually include links for References even if full text isn't available
- usually contain a review of the literature
- can be requested through ILLiad interlibrary loan if needed (submit a book request)
