Research Guides: WRIT 3312: Written Communications in Business: Home

Welcome

This guide is intended to lay out research tools and resources to assist you with your projects and assignments throughout the course. Sometimes knowing which resources are available for your program or course, and how to use them, can feel overwhelming and daunting with so many tools at your disposal. This guide will help you navigate the library resources best suited for your course, no matter if you are a distance learner, or in person.

In this guide you will find:

► Books & eBooks

► Citation & Writing Help

► Open Access Resources

► Research Databases & Journals (located below)

► Research Help

► Videos & Streaming Medi a

Please try our Writing Research Guide if these resources do not provide what you are looking for.

Don't Forget

Use your UHCL ID card to borrow books and other materials, and your UHCL Login credentials to access online material.

One Search

OneSearch

Advanced Search

Databases
Journals

Databases

A library database is an online searchable collection of information, and these are provided to you without additional fees or costs through the library. Many of these databases will search more than just journal articles, and dissertations or theses, you will also find items such as newspaper articles, book reviews, court cases, and magazine articles.

AnnualReports.com This link opens in a new window
Directory of company annual reports searchable by an alphabetical index, company name, ticker symbol, sector, or industry
Business Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from business-related magazines and journals
Gale Business: Insights Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primarily full text case studies, statistical data, news articles, journal articles, and topical reference materials organized by company, industry, and country; includes SWOT reports
Checkpoint This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Registration required; tax and accounting research tool that includes Federal Tax Coordinator and U.S. Tax Reporter; AICPA Professional Standards, Technical Practice Aids, Audit and Accounting Guides; PPC Tax Deskbooks; BNA Daily Tax Report®, West Employee Benefits Cases and more.
Emerald Emerging Markets Case Studies This link opens in a new window
Full text research case studies from 2011-2012 on real-life business situations, focusing on putting theory into practice by analyzing business perspectives within the fastest growing markets in the world; includes teaching notes for faculty
Key Business Ratios This link opens in a new window
Dun & Bradstreet's competitive benchmarking data of public and private companies
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Primarily full text for news sources from around the world, including broadcast transcripts, plus law review journals, statutory, case law, and other legal resources, company and industry information, and more
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for primarily U.S. business-related newspaper and trade publications; also includes radio and TV news transcripts
SEC EDGAR Corporate Reports (U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission) This link opens in a new window
Full text of annual and other public company corporate reports filed with the SEC
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1983 to present; full text of the newspaper's Eastern edition

Journals

Journals are scholarly publications containing articles written by researchers, and other professional experts within their respective fields. Journals, unlike many databases, will provide more: peer-reviewed content, and original research. Additionally, journals are typically intended for an academic or technical audience and will be focused on a specific field of research.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primarily full text (excluding most recent 3 - 5 years) for journal articles in the humanities, social sciences, statistics, and mathematics
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for journal articles and books published by Wiley