A library database is an online searchable collection of information, and these are provided to you without additional fees or costs through the library. Many of these databases will search more than just journal articles, and dissertations or theses. You will also find items such as newspaper articles, book reviews, court cases, and magazine articles.
If you don't see a database here that you are looking for try out A to Z Database page.
Selected full text articles from journals in a wide range of subjects, plus magazines, reports, books, and more
Selected full text articles from regional U.S. and international newspapers; also includes television and radio news transcripts
1983 to present; full text of the newspaper's Eastern edition
Journals are scholarly publications containing articles written by researchers, and other professional experts within their respective fields. Journals tend to provide peer-reviewed content and detailed original research. Additionally, journals are typically intended for an academic or technical audience and will be focused on a specific field of research. Journal articles will include full citations for sources.
Reference resources summarize topics, provide background information, as well as aid you in finding other resources or literature on the subject matter. These resources can also be used for quick facts, statistics, or learning specific vocabulary, and contain bibliographies for further reading. When you are not sure where to get started with your research, using a reference source can help you explore a variety of topics to help you gauge interest, or compatibility with your assignment without having to spend too much time searching.
| Bayou Building 2402, 2700 Bay Area Blvd, Houston, TX 77058-1002 |
