Research Guides: Library Instructional Videos and Tutorials: Multidisciplinary

Introduction

This guide provides videos and tutorials on:

(1:43) Learn how logical operators AND and OR work to help you get good results in library research databases.

(1:55) Learn how to retrieve varying forms of a word and improve search results.

These tutorials include practice in Neumann Library web-based resources and self-quiz questions to help you check your understanding.

Step 1: Choose a Relevant Research Database
Learn how to find subject-specific and other research databases in Databases A-Z and library research guides
Step 2: Create an Effective First Search
Learn how to choose keywords and how to use logical operators, wildcards, basic limiters, and more
Step 3: Critically Review and Refine Search Results
Learn how to identify scholarly articles and to find and use database subject terms, field, and other specialized limiters

Citation: A (Very) Brief Introduction
(1:54) North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

Evaluating Sources for Credibility
(3:14) North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

From Idea to Library
(2:28) North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

Get Full Text for an Article
(2:15) Learn how to locate full text using Find It @ UHCL, OneSearch, the Journals List, or by request

How to Read a Scholarly Journal Article
(5:10) Tim Lockman, Kishwaukee College Library

How to Renew Books Online
(0:54) Learn how to renew materials in your OneSearch account

The Information Cycle
Versions by Polk Library, Univ. of Wisconsin Oshkosh (4:49) and by Penn State Univ. Libraries (7:30)

Peer Review in Three Minutes
(3:15) North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

Picking Your Topic IS Research
(3:12) North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

Scholarly vs. Popular Articles
(3:05) White Library, Spring Arbor Univ.

Wikipedia: Beneath the Surface
(6:41) North Carolina State Univ. Libraries