Research Guides: ANTH 3361: Anthropology of Food: Articles & Journals

Note to Authors

This page layout is 2 column custom 58/42.

Find Articles in Research Databases [tabbed box]

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles and references from journals in science, the social sciences, and art and humanities; selected full text available via Find It @ UHCL; results can be sorted by times cited; use Cited Reference search to find works that cite an earlier article or publication

Depending on your topic, these databases may be relevant. If needed, more choices are in Databases A-Z.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals in a wide range of subjects, plus magazines, reports, books, and more

Add/reuse (map from; do not copy):

Primo-OneSearch-Everything with Advanced Search link media/widget (#10098714 owned by Xiao)

Customize sample searches in rich text item below if desired.

Sample searches:
how racial attitudes influence discrimination
"critical thinking" AND "higher education"
motivat* AND exercise
Refine your search with filters on results screen: peer-reviewed journals, available online, etc.

While it doesn't offer some of the sophisticated options available in research databases, Google Scholar can be helpful. See instructions for customizing Google Scholar to provide Full Text @ UHCL links in results.

A peer-reviewed (or refereed) journal:

uses experts from the same subject field or profession as the author to evaluate a manuscript prior to acceptance for publication
has articles that report on research studies or provide scholarly analysis of topics
may include book reviews, editorials, or other brief items that are not considered scholarly articles

Add link item for Anatomy of a Scholarly Article (reuse existing link 10463553 owned by Xiao; maintain mapping)

Peer Review in 3 Minutes

Add media / widget item Peer Review in 3 Minutes (reuse existing widget 10463022 owned by Steele; maintain mapping)

(3:15) Explains the academic publishing process for research articles and scholarly journals, including the quality control process of peer review. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

Get Full Text for an Article [Find It @ UHCL side bar graphic; DELETE THIS NOTE]

If a database lacks immediate full text, click Find It @ UHCL in results to check for full text from another source. Follow Available Online links in OneSearch to a resource with full text for UH Clear Lake users as shown below.

If full text is not found, submit an article request.

Request a book, article, or other item
ILLiad Interlibrary Loan logon
Locating Full Text Articles and Journals

Get an Article from a Citation [FOR MAPPING; with Jrnls List search; DELETE THIS NOTE]

Sample citation:
Robbins, B. G. (2016). Probing the links between trustworthiness, trust, and emotion: Evidence from four survey experiments. Social Psychology Quarterly, 79, 284-308. doi:10.1177/0190272516657546

Use OneSearch to look for a DOI (digital object identifier). If there's no DOI, search for an "exact phrase" from the article title. Add an author name if needed. Examples:

10.1177/0190272516657546
"links between trustworthiness trust and emotion"
"links between trustworthiness trust and emotion" robbins

As an alternative, or to check if the library has paper copy, search the title of the journal (e.g., social psychology quarterly) in the Journals List search box below:

If an article isn't available online, submit an article request.

Request a book, article, or other item
ILLiad Interlibrary Loan logon

Journals List [5 covers, search box; DELETE THIS NOTE]

When you already have a citation to an article or want to know whether the library has a specific journal, search here for the journal title.

Google Scholar

While it doesn't offer some of the sophisticated options available in research databases, Google Scholar can be helpful. See instructions for setting Google Scholar to provide Full Text @ UHCL links in results.