Gale’s eBook platform provides comprehensive support from many of today’s top publishers.
Using Advanced Search in OneSearch:
You may wish to change Sort by from Relevance to Date-newest in your results as shown below.
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The classic environmental biotechnology textbook--fully updated for the latest advances This thoroughly revised educational resource presents the biological principles that underlie modern microbiological treatment technologies. Written by two of the field's foremost researchers, Environmental Biotechnology: Principles and Applications, Second Edition, clearly explains the new technologies that have evolved over the past 20 years, including direct anaerobic treatments, membrane-based processes, and granular processes. The first half of the book focuses on theory and tools; the second half offers practical applications that are clearly illustrated through real-world examples. Coverage includes: * Moving toward sustainability * Basics of microbiology * Biochemistry, metabolism, genetics, and information flow * Microbial ecology * Stoichiometry and energetics * Microbial kinetics and products * Biofilm kinetics * Reactor characteristics and kinetics * Methanogenesis * Aerobic suspended-growth processes * Aerobic biofilm processes * Nitrogen transformation and recovery * Phosphorus removal and recovery * Biological treatment of drinking water
The book includes current and emerging concepts in the areas of environmental biotechnology such as pollution sources, control and measurement, solid waste management, bioremediation, biofuels, biosensors, bioleaching, conservation biotechnology and more. The book also includes recent innovations made in this field and incorporates case studies to help in understanding the concepts. This book applies principles from multidisciplinary sciences of environmental engineering, metabolic engineering, rDNA technology and omics to study the role of microbes and plants in tackling environmental issues. It also includes content related to risk assessment and environmental management systems. Each chapter provides problems and solutions of different topics with diagrammatic illustrations and tables for students, researchers and other professionals in environmental biotechnology.
Dr. Neetu Sharma is Assistant Professor in the Department of Biotechnology, GGDSD College, Chandigarh, India. The main thrust of her research centers on biotechnology, bioremediation and nanotechnology.
Synthetic biology is a field of biotechnology that is rapidly growing in various applications, such as in medicine, environmental sustainability, and energy production. However these technologies also have unforeseen risks and applications to humans and the environment. This open access book presents discussions on risks and mitigation strategies for these technologies including biosecurity, or the potential of synthetic biology technologies and processes to be deliberately misused for nefarious purposes. The book presents strategies to prevent, mitigate, and recover from ‘dual-use concern’ biosecurity challenges that may be raised by individuals, rogue states, or non-state actors. Several key topics are explored including opportunities to develop more coherent and scalable approaches to govern biosecurity from a laboratory perspective up to the international scale and strategies to prevent potential health and environmental hazards posed by deliberate misuse of synthetic biology without stifling innovation. The book brings together the expertise of top scholars in synthetic biology and biotechnology risk assessment, management, and communication to discuss potential biosecurity governing strategies and offer perspectives for collaboration in oversight and future regulatory guidance.
This book covers a range of important topics in biotechnology policy, advocacy and education, bioethics, biosafety regulations for genetically modified organisms and gene-edited products and biotechnology manpower development. Throughout the book, the contributors review biosafety and bioethical guidelines that could enhance adoption of biotechnology in alignment with national priorities and research agendas. They also discuss the importance of current biotechnology policy advocacy, enlightenment and public engagement with stakeholders and policy makers. The book will be useful reference material for scientists and researchers working in the fields of food and agricultural biotechnology, biopharmaceuticals and medical biotechnology, environmental biotechnology, biotechnology policy and advocacy, biotechnology communication and manpower development, biosafety and bioethics, etc. Emphasizes recent advances in biotechnology that could ameliorate the high-level global food insecurity through the deployment of the technology in Nigeria Provides detailed information on how to domesticate biotechnology and boost training of the biotechnology workforce in the universities and research institutes Introduces new frontiers in the area of organizing informal biotechnology capacity building courses and professional certification Reviews biosafety and bioethical guidelines that could enhance adoption of biotechnology in alignment with national priorities and research agendas Discusses current biotechnology policy advocacy, enlightenment and public engagement with stakeholders and policy makers Sylvia Uzochukwu, Ph.D., is a Professor of Food Science and Biotechnology, and Director, Biotechnology Centre, Federal University, Oye-Ekiti, Nigeria. Arinze Stanley Okoli, Ph.D., is an Associate Professor at Genoek - Centre for Biosafety, Universitetet II, Breivika, Tromsoe, Norway. Nwadiuto (Diuoto) Esiobu, Ph.D., is a Professor of Microbiology and Biotechnology at Florida Atlantic University, Boca Raton, FL, USA, and the President and Founder of Applied Biotech, Inc. and ABINL. Emeka Godfrey Nwoba, Ph.D., is currently at the Algae Research & Development Centre, Murdoch University, Western Australia. Christpeace Nwagbo Ezebuiro, Ph.D., is a Project Manager, Renewable Energy Expert and Head of Clean Technology Division at the National Biotechnology Development Agency, Abuja, Nigeria. Charles Oluwaseun Adetunji, Ph.D., is an Associate Professor of Microbiology and Biotechnology and the Director of Intellectual Property and Technology Transfer, Edo State University Uzairue, Nigeria. Abdulrazak B. Ibrahim, Ph.D., is a Capacity Development Expert at the Forum for Agricultural Research in Africa (FARA) and Associate Professor of Biochemistry, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Nigeria. Benjamin Ewa Ubi, Ph.D., is a Professor of Plant Breeding and Biotechnology and Director, Biotechnology Research and Development Centre, Ebonyi State University Abakaliki, Nigeria.
Financial Times Business Top Title March 2022How could a large collection of small companies, most with fewer than 50 employees, rise to compete with Big Pharma, one of the world's most breathtakingly expensive and highly regulated industries?Beginning in the 1970s, several scientific breakthroughs promised to transform the creation of new medicines. As investors sought to capitalize on these Nobel Prize-winning discoveries, the biotech industry grew to thousands of small companies around the world. Each sought to emulate what the major pharmaceutical companies had been doing for a century or more, but without the advantages of scale, scope, experience, and massive resources.Biotech companies have met the challenge by creating nearly 40% more of the most important treatments for previously unmet medical needs. Moreover, they have done so with much lower overall costs.From Breakthrough to Blockbuster: The Business of Biotechnology focuses on both the companies themselves and the broader biotech ecosystem that supports them. It paints a portrait of the crucial roles played by academic research, venture capital, contract research organizations, the capital markets, and pharmaceutical companies, demonstrating how a supportive environment enabled the entrepreneurial biotech industry to create novel medicines with unprecedented efficiency. In doing so, it also offers insights for any industry seeking to innovate in uncertain and ambiguous conditions.
| Bayou Building 2402, 2700 Bay Area Blvd, Houston, TX 77058-1002 |
