Research Guides: Women's and Gender Studies: Articles & Journals

Find Articles in Research Databases

Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and more
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals in sociology and related areas of history, anthropology, social work, political science, psychology, and law
Project MUSE Electronic Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primarily full text (excluding most recent 3 - 5 years) for journal articles in the humanities, social sciences, statistics, and mathematics
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles and references from journals in science, the social sciences, and art and humanities; selected full text available via Find It @ UHCL; results can be sorted by times cited; use Cited Reference search to find works that cite an earlier article or publication

Depending on your topic, these databases may be relevant. If needed, more choices are in Databases A-Z.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals in a wide range of subjects, plus magazines, reports, books, and more
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals on U.S. and Canadian history and culture with some coverage of books and conference papers
Family Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from major journals and sources in family studies, marriage, divorce, and family therapy
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from approximately 1,400 journals in literature, history, the creative arts, and humanities
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from major and historically significant lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender journals, magazines, regional newspapers, and books. Name changed from LGBT Life with Full Text
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from English-language journals and magazines in the social sciences

Sample searches:
"glass ceiling" AND "higher education"
(beauty OR "personal appearance") AND discriminat*
Select limiters (articles from scholarly publications, date, etc.) on results screen

While it doesn't offer some of the sophisticated options available in research databases, Google Scholar can be helpful. See instructions for customizing Google Scholar to provide Full Text @ UHCL links in results.

A peer-reviewed (or refereed) journal:

uses experts from the same subject field or profession as the author to evaluate a manuscript prior to acceptance for publication
has articles that report on research studies or provide scholarly analysis of topics
may include book reviews, editorials, or other brief items that are not considered scholarly articles

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
Explains key elements from the first & last page of a typical scholarly or academic article. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

Peer Review in 3 Minutes

(3:15) Explains the academic publishing process for research articles and scholarly journals, including the quality control process of peer review. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries