Research Guides: SWRK 4319: Social Welfare Policy Analysis: Sources for News

Keep Up With Policy Developments

Use the resources on this page to keep up with policy developments as they happen.

The newspapers and news databases listed in the "Library News Databases" box are provided by the library. These included articles from the print version of these papers, updated daily. However because they are designed to search for information on a specific topic across time rather than provide breaking news or up to date information on events throughout the day, they will look significantly different from the newspapers' own websites.

The websites listed in the "Other News Outlets of Interest" are direct links to news outlets websites. The library does not subscribe to these and some content may be unavailable or require a subscription.

Library News Databases

Alt-Press Watch This link opens in a new window
Primarily full text articles from alternative and independent newspapers, magazines, and journals, plus blogs; offers a wide range of perspectives on news and events
Chicago Tribune This link opens in a new window
1985 to present; full text
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Primarily full text for news sources from around the world, including broadcast transcripts, plus law review journals, statutory, case law, and other legal resources, company and industry information, and more
Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
1985 to present; full text
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from regional U.S. and international newspapers; also includes television and radio news transcripts
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for primarily U.S. business-related newspaper and trade publications; also includes radio and TV news transcripts
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
1980's to present; full text of Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
1983 to present; full text of the newspaper's Eastern edition
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
1987 to present; full text

Other News Outlets of Interest

Houston Chronicle
Houston's largest paper, the Chronicle is a good resource for both local news and information about Texas government
Austin American Statesman
Austin-based newspaper reporting local, state and national news, with a particular focus on Texas government affairs.
National Public Radio
"The mission of NPR is to work in partnership with Member Stations to create a more informed public — one challenged and invigorated by a deeper understanding and appreciation of events, ideas and cultures."
Politico
Washington-focused and more interested than political maneuvering than policy, Politico tracks the day-to-day work of the federal government.