Research Guides: Software Engineering: Articles & Journals

Find Articles in Research Databases

IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for journal articles and proceedings of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology; includes full text of active IEEE standards
ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from ACM journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and some co-sponsored publications
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles for English-language journals, reports, conference papers, etc., in engineering, acoustics, chemistry, computers, metallurgy, physics, plastics, telecommunications, transportation, waste management, and more
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles and references from journals in science, the social sciences, and art and humanities; selected full text available via Find It @ UHCL; results can be sorted by times cited; use Cited Reference search to find works that cite an earlier article or publication

Depending on your topic, these databases also may be relevant.

Information Science & Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and more
CiteSeerX (Computer Science) This link opens in a new window
Full text, open access computer science articles, papers, and technical reports
Science and Technology Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals, trade, and popular magazines covering scientific and technical fields
Computer Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals and magazines covering computers, telecommunications, electronics and the Internet
Cabells This link opens in a new window
Scholarly analytics, contact information, submission guidelines, acceptance rate, type of review, etc., "journalytics" for journals in business, education, psychology, computer science--business information systems, and health administration; also documents violations in "predatory reports" that have questionable peer review or publication practices, website inconsistencies, etc.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals in a wide range of subjects, plus magazines, reports, books, and more

Sample search:
"critical thinking" AND "higher education"
(race OR racial) AND (discriminat* OR prejudic*)
Select limiters (articles from scholarly publications, etc.) on results screen

While it doesn't offer some of the sophisticated options available in research databases, Google Scholar can be helpful. See instructions for customizing Google Scholar to provide Full Text @ UHCL links in results.

A peer-reviewed (or refereed) journal:

uses experts from the same subject field or profession as the author to evaluate a manuscript prior to acceptance for publication
has articles that report on research studies or provide scholarly analysis of topics
may include book reviews, editorials, or other brief items that are not considered scholarly articles

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
Explains key elements from the first & last page of a typical scholarly or academic article. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

Peer Review in 3 Minutes

(3:15) Explains the academic publishing process for research articles and scholarly journals, including the quality control process of peer review. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

Get Full Text for an Article

If a database lacks immediate full text, click Find It @ UHCL in results to check for full text from another source. Follow Available Online links in OneSearch to a resource with full text for UH Clear Lake users as shown below.

If full text is not found, submit an article request.

Request a book, article, or other item
ILLiad Interlibrary Loan logon
Locating Full Text Articles and Journals

Journals List

When you already have a citation to an article or want to know whether the library has a specific journal, search here for the journal title.

Get an Article from a Known Citation

Sample citation:
Robbins, B. G. (2016). Probing the links between trustworthiness, trust, and emotion: Evidence from four survey experiments. Social Psychology Quarterly, 79, 284-308. doi:10.1177/0190272516657546

Use OneSearch to look for a DOI (digital object identifier). If there's no DOI, search for an "exact phrase" from the article title. Add an author name if needed. Examples:

10.1177/0190272516657546
"links between trustworthiness trust and emotion"
"links between trustworthiness trust and emotion" robbins

As an alternative, or to check if the library has paper copy, search the title of the journal (e.g., social psychology quarterly) in the Journals List search box below:

If an article isn't available online, submit an article request.

Request a book, article, or other item
ILLiad Interlibrary Loan logon