Dr. Alfred R. Neumann Book Collection Exhibit

The Alfred R. Neumann Book Collection is believed to have been donated to Neumann Library sometime around Neumann’s retirement in 1982, or after his death. The collection is composed primarily of German literature and poetry, German grammar and language, and German humor works, in both English and German. Many of these books were kept in his campus President’s Office or at his home office while he worked at the University of Houston at Clear Lake City (present-day University of Houston-Clear Lake).

Dr. Neumann developed his deep love of literature and the arts growing up as a child in Frankfurt, Germany, prior to World War II. Alfred Neumann studied violin and viola under the principal violinist of the Frankfurt Symphony, gaining a life-long love for music and the arts. He was the younger son of a cultured, well-to-do family in whose home the finest musicians in Europe met to relax by playing chamber music. By 1937 at the age of 16, Neumann spoke four languages fluently, including German, English, French, and Latin. Neumann earned his PhD. in German literature from the University of Michigan in 1951.

While at the University of Houston, Dr. Alfred Neumann served as the Dean of the School of Arts and Sciences during the 1960s through 1972. He was a lifelong reader, learner, and lover of the arts. Neumann's Book Collection reflects his personal tastes and interests that carried him in the United States from an undergraduate student through his leadership as the founding chancellor of the University of Houston-Clear Lake. Several of these books contain inscriptions by Neumann, along with his addresses, educational institutions, and dates he came to own the books. There are books from his first few years in the United States while he was studying at present-day Marshall University, books purchased while he was at Harvard University in 1947, and books purchased or acquired throughout his entire academic and professional career.

Dr. Alfred R. Neumann, chancellor of the University of Houston at Clear Lake City, sitting at his office desk doing paperwork sometime between 1980 and 1982. In the background, some of the books featured in the Neumann Book Collection are seen (Courtesy UHCL Archives and Special Collections).

The following listings are for the English-language and non-English language books that compose the the Dr. Alfred R. Neumann Book Collection, housed in the UHCL Libraries and UHCL Archives and Special Collections. The books listed here are on display currently in an exhibit case on the lower level of the Alfred R. Neumann Library, on the second floor of the Bayou Building of UHCL. The exhibit is near the Active Learning Classroom and Computer Lab in the Neumann Library.

Andorra: A Play In Twelve Scenes, by Max Frisch [1969] (Call. No. PT2611.R814 A813)

An Angel Comes To Babylon: & Romulus The Great, by Friedrich Dürrenmatt [1964] (Call. No. PT2607.U493 E53 1964)

An Anthology Of German Literature, by Calvin Thomas [1909] (Call. No. PT1105 .T5 1909)

An Anthology Of German Literature In The Nineteenth Century, 1795-1910, by Harvey W. Hewett-Thayer [1932] (Call. No. PT1136 .H4)

An Anthology Of German Poetry From Hl̲derlin To Rilke In English Translation, by Angel Flores [1960] (Call. No. PT1160.E5 F55)

An Anthology Of German Poetry, 1830-1880, by Jethro Bithell [1946] (Call. No. PT1173 .B5)

Basic (Spoken) German Dictionary For Everyday Usage, by J. Alan (Jay Alan) Pfeffer [1970] (Call. No. PF3640 .P38)

Beginning German, by Otto P. Schinnerer [1956] (Call. No. PF3111 .S33 1956)

Community & Society = Gemeinschaft Und Gesellschaft, by Ferdinand Tn̲nies [1963] (Call. No. HM57.T62 1957)

Danton's Death, by Georg Büchner [1971] (Call. No. PT1828.B6 A65 1971)

Easy German Poetry For Beginners, by Chester William Collmann [1913] (Call. No. PT1155 .C6 1913)

Elective Affinities, by Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe [1971] (Call. No. PT2027.W2 H6)

Elementary German: A Systematic Approach, by Fred L. Fehling [1952] (Call. No. PF3111 .F43 1952)

Elementary German, by Erika Meyer [1952] (Call. No. PF3111 .M47)

Essays On Goethe, by William Rose [1949] (Call. No. PT2047 .R7)

Faust / Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe: The Bayard Taylor Translation, by Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe [1962] (Call. No. PT2026.F2 T22 1962)

Faust / Goethe: Translated, With An Introd, by Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe [1949-59] (Call. No. PT2026.F2 W3)

Faust, Part I, by Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe [1946] (Call. No. PT2026.F2 T21 1946)

Faust: Part I With Part II, Act V, by Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe [1957] (Call. No. PT2026.F2 M6 1957b)

Faust: Part One. With Act V Of Part Two, by Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe [1957] (Call. No. PT2026.F2 M6 1957)

Faust: Part II: A Prose Translation by Bayard Quincy Morgan, by Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe [1964] (Call. No. PT2026.F2 M62)

Faust: Part One & Part Two, by Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe [1965] (Call. No. PT2026.F2 P25)

The Firebugs (Herr Biedermann Und Die brandstifter): A Learning-Play Without A Lesson, by Max Frisch [1963] (Call. No. PT2611.R814 F53 1963)

German Essays II: Goethe, by Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe [1964] (Call. No. PT1970.A2 D8)

German Grammar, An Approach To Reading, by Andrew Louis [1954] (Call. No. PF3111 .L77 1954)

The German Heritage, by Reginald H. (Reginald Henry) Phelps [1958] (Call. No. PF3117 .P45 1958)

The German Heritage, by Reginald H. (Reginald Henry) Phelps [1958] (Call. No. PF3117 .P45 1970)

German In Review: A Concise Survey Of Grammar, by Robert O. Rs̲eler [1953] (Call. No. PF3111 .R62 1953)

German Literature Since Goethe, by Ernst Feise [1958] (Call. No. PT341 .F45)

German Plays Of The Nineteenth Century, by Thomas Mood Campbell [1930] (Call. No. PT1266 .C3)

German Reading Grammar, by Stanley Loui Sharp [1955] (Call. No. PF3111 .S57 1955)

Germany's Stepchildren, by Solomon Liptzin [1961] (Call. No. PT169 .L5 1961)

Germany's Stepchildren, by Solomon Liptzin [1961] (Call. No. PT169 .L5 1961)

Goethe, by Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe [1964] (Call. No. PT1895.A2 L8)

Goethe; A Collection Of Critical Essays, by Victor Lange [1968] (Call. No. PT2178 .L3)

Goethe As A Scientist, by Rudolf Magnus [1949] (Call. No. PT2206 .M342 1949)

Goethe's Faust: Part One And Selected Sections Of Part Two In The German Original With An English Translation, by Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe [1965] (Call. No. PT2026.F2 R34)

Goethe: Selected Poems, by Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe [C1950s] (Call. No. PT1894 .A3 1950)

Great German Short Novels And Stories, by Alan R. (Alan Robert) Cerf [1933] (Call. No. PT1327 .C4)

German Short Stories (Deutsche Kurzgeschichten), by Richard Newnham [1964] (Call. No. PT1327 .N4)

German Stories And Tales, by Robert Pick [1955] (Call. No. PT1327 .P5 1955)

German Stories (Deutsche Novellen), by Harry Steinhauer [1961] (Call. No. PT1338 .S733)

Great Writings Of Goethe, by Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe [1958] (Call. No. PT2026.A2 S6)

The Heath Anthology Of German Poetry, by Augus Closs [1958] (Call. No. PT1155 .C58)

Heine: Selected Verse, by Heinrich Heine [1967] (Call. No. PT2303.A3 B7 1967)

The Heretic Of Soana, by Gerhart Hauptmann [1928] (Call. No. PT2616 .H42)

Hymns To The Night, And Other Selected Writings, by Novalis [1960] (Call. No. PT2291.H6 E55)

Lucinde: Roman, by Friedrich Schiller [1918] (Call. No. PT2503.S6 L9 1918)

Maria Magdalena, by Friedrich Hebbel [1962] (Call. No. PT2295.M3 E53)

Modern German Drama, by Edgar Lohner [1966] (Call. No. PT1268 .L6)

Modern German Poetry, 1910-1960: An Anthology With Verse Translations, by Michael Hamburger [1962] (Call. No. PT1174 .H3)

Narcissus And Goldmund, by Hermann Hesse [1971] (Call. No. PT2617.E85 N33 1971)

The Nibelungenlied, by Arthur T. Hatto [ca. 1969] (Call. No. PT1579.A3 H3 1969)

Parables For The Theatre: Two Plays: The Good Woman Of Setzuan And The Caucasian Chalk Circle, by Bertolt Brecht [1948] (Call. No. PT2603.R397 P3 1948)

The Penguin Book Of German Verse, by Leonard Forster [1957] (Call. No. PT1155 .F6)

A Practical German Review Grammar, by Emory Ellsworth Cochran [1934] (Call. No. PF3111 .C57)

Reading German, by Bayard Quincy Morgan [1943] (Call. No. PF3117 .M74)

Seventeen Modern German Stories, by R. Hinton (Richard Hinton Thomas [1965] (Call. No. PT1334 .H48)

The Ship Of Fools, by Sebastian Brant [1962] (Call. No. PT1509 .N49 1962)

Shorter College German, by Marshall Blakemore Evans [1949] (Call. No. PF3111 .E72 1949)

Social Directory Of Houston 1978 (Call. No. F394.H8 S6)

The Sorrows Of Young Werther: The New Melusina. Novelle, by Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe [1949] (Call. No. PT2027.W3 L3)

Stories And Plays by Arthur Schnitzler, by Arthur Schnitzler [1930] (Call. No. PT2638.N5 A6 1930)

Taming Of The Arts, by I︠U︡Riĭ Elagin [1951] (Call. No. ML418.J5 A32)

Ten German Novellas, by Harry Steinhauer [1969] (Call. No. PT1338.S73 T4)

This New Ocean: A History Of Project Mercury, by Loyd S. Swenson [1966] (Call. No. TL789.8.U6 M484 1966)

Tristan: Translated Entire For The First Time, by Von Strassbur Gottfried [1960] (Call. No. PT1525 .A425)

Tristan: Translated Entire For The First Time With The Surviving Fragments Of The Tristran Of Thomas, by Von Strassburg Gottfried [1972] (Call. No. PT1525 .A425 1967)

Twentieth-Century German Verse: With Plain Prose Translations Of Each Poem, by Patrick bridgwater [1968] (Call. No. PT1174 .B7 1968)

Woyzeck, And Leonce And Lena, by Georg Büchner [1962] (Call. No. PT1828.B6 A75)

Amerika Und Deutschland; Parallel Lives of Great Americans And Germans, by Adolf Eduard Zucker [1953] (Call. No. PF3117 .Z9)

Aug. Wilhelm Schlegels Vorlesungen Üüber Philosophische Kunstlehre/ Mit Erläuternden Bemerkungen von Karl Christian Friedrich Krause, by August Wilhelm von Schlegel [1911] (Call. No. BH183 .S3)

Aus Dem Leben Eines Taugenichts, by Joseph Freiherr von Eichendorff [1931] (Call. No. PT1856.A9 S4)

Beethovens Denkmal Im Wort, by Richard Benz [1946] (Call. No. ML410.B4 A175)

Biedermann Und Die Brandstifter: Ein Lehrstück Ohne Lehre, Mit Einem Nachspiel, by Max Frisch [1963] (Call. No. PT2611.R814 B5 1963)

Bonaparte; Ein Schauspiel, by Fritz von Unruh [1927] (Call. No. PT2643.N7 B6 1927)

Capriccio; Ein Konversationsstück Für Musik In Einem Aufzug, by Richard Strauss [1942] (Call. No. ML50 .S918 C3 1942)

Chamissos Werke,by Adelbert von Chamisso [c1880s] (Call. No. PT1834 .A1 1880)

Das Nibelungenlied, by Karl Joseph Simrock [1911] (Call. No. PT1579.A1 S5 1911)

Das Oxforder Buch Deutscher Dictung, by Hermann Georg Fiedler [1911] (Call. No. PT1155 .O8 1911a)

Der Besuch Der Alten Dame: Eine Tragische Komödie Mit Einem Nachwort, by Friedrich Dürrenmatt [1960] (Call. No. PT2607.U493 B4)

Der Dichter Spricht; Deutsche Gedichte, by Eberhard Reichmann [1962] (Call. No. PT1155 .R43)

Der Gefangene; Einakter Mit Prolog, Nach La Torture Par L'esperance, von Graf Villiers De L'Isle Adam Und Nach La Legende D'Ulenspeigel Et De Lamme Goedzak, von Charles De Coster, by Luigi Dallapiccola [1955] (Call. No. ML50 .P15 D9)

Der Grosse Duden; Rechtschreibung Der Deutschen Sprache, Und Der Fremdwörter. Mit Unterstützung Des Deutschen Sprachvereins, Des Deutschen Buchruckervereins E. V., Des Hauptverbandes Der Graphischen Unternehmungen Österreichs, Des Schweizerischen Buchdruckervereins Sowie Der Deutschen Und Österreichischen Korrektorenvereine, Nach Den furDas Deutsche Reiche, Österreich Und Die Schweiz Gültigen Amtlichen Regeln, Bearbeitet, by Otto Basler [1937] (Call. No. PF3146 .D75 1937)

Der Grüne Kakadu, Literatur, Die Letzten Masken, by Arthur Schnitzler [1928] (Call. No. PT2638.N5 G7 1928b)

Der Unbegabte Goethe, by Leo Schidrowitz [c1900s] (Call. No. PT2177 .U5)

Deutsch 2000: Eine Einführung In Die Moderne Umgangsprache, by Erich Funke [1945] (Call. No. PF3121 .S267)

Deutsch 2000: Eine Eiuführung In Die Moderne Umgangssprache, by Erich Funke [1945] (Call. No. PF3121 .S268)

Deutsch Für Anfänger: An Inductive Presentation of Minimum Essentials, by Peter Hagboldt [1942] (Call. No. PF3111 .H29 1942)

Deutsche Klassik Und Romantik, by Fritz Strich [1949] (Call. No. PT285 .S7 1949)

Deutsche Lyrik, by Konrad Schaum [1963] (Call. No. PT1174 .S27)

Deutsche Meisternovellen, by John Theodore Geissendoerfer [1945] (Call. No. PT1338 .G4 1945)

Deutsche Novellen von Tieck Bis Hauptmann,by Angel Flores [1959] (Call. No. PT1338 .F63)

Deutsche Romantik: Eine Skizze, by Oskar Franz Walzel [1912] (Call. No. PT361 .W3)

Deutsche Sprachlehre furAmerikaner: Grundstufe; Vollständige Einführung In Die Deutsche Sprache, by Heinz Griesbach [1970] (Call. No. PF3112 .G7 1970)

Deutscher Humor, by Gerhard F. Probst [1972] (Call. No. PF3117 .P83)

Deutsches Literatur-Lesebuch, by Otto Siegfried Fleissner [1959] (Call. No. PF3117 .F55 1959)

Die Bibel, Oder Die Ganze Heilige Schrift Des Alten Und Neuen Testaments:, by Martin Luther [1893] (Call. No. BS239 1893)

Die Deutsche Dichtung Im Mittelalter,, by Wolfgang Golther [1912] (Call. No. PT175 .G6)

Die Deutsche Romantik; Geschichte Einer Geistigen Bewegung, by Richard Benz [1937] (Call. No. PT361 .B4)

Die Kunst Der Prosa; Sammlung Ausgewh̃lter Dichtungen Und Ihre Interpretation, by O. S. (Otto Siegfried) Fleissner [1941] (Call. No. PT1338 .F6)

Die Leiden Des Jungen Werthers, by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe [1953] (Call. No. PT1974 .A1 1953)

Die Lese Der Deutschen Lyrik; von Klopstock Bis Rilke, by Friedrich. Bruns [] (Call. No. PT1187 .B7)

Die Physiker; Eine Komödie In Zwei Akten, by Friedrich Dürrenmatt [1962] (Call. No. PT2607.U493 P5 1962)

Die Physiker; Eine Komödie In Zwei Akten, by Friedrich Dürrenmatt [1965] (Call. No. PT2607.U493 P5)

Die Romanistische Schule, by Rudolf Haym [1870] (Call. No. PT361 .H3 1870)

Die Umgangssprache; An Introduction To Spoken German, With Grammar And Material For Conversation, by Erich Funke [1945] (Call. No. PF3121 .F8)

E.T.A. Hoffmanns Musikalische Schriften,: Hrsg. von Dr. Edgar Istel. 1. Bis 5. Tausend, by Ernst Theodor Amadeus Hoffmann [1907] (Call. No. ML60 .H71)

Etymologisches Wörterbuch Der Deutschen Sprache Enthaltend: Ein Verzeichnis Der Eigennamen Und Eine Grammatische Übersicht, by Auguste Pinloche [c1930s] (Call. No. PF3580 .P5)

Faust: Leben, Legende Und Literature, by Harold von Hofe [1965] (Call. No. PF3117 .V52)

Flügel Der Zeit; Deutsche Gedichte, 1900-1950,by Curt Hohoff [1956] (Call. No. PT1174 .H71)

Gedichte, by von Der Vogelweide Walther [1944] (Call. No. PT2645.O334 A17 1944)

Geschichte Der Deutschen Literatur,:, by Friedrich Vogt [1907] (Call. No. PT85 .V7 1904)

Gesprc̃he Mit Goethe In Den Letzten Jahren Seines Lebens, by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe [c1910s] (Call. No. PT2027.C5 O8)

Goethe And World Literature,by Fritz Strich [1949] (Call. No. PT2166 .S754)

Goethe In Briefen, Tagebüchern Und Gesprächen, 1775-1832, by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe [1949] (Call. No. PT2001 .A1 1949)

Goethe, En Bilderbuch, Sein Leben Und Schaffen In 444 Bildern Erlñtert, by Rudolf Payer von Thurn [1931] (Call. No. PT2143.A2 P3)

Goethe, Sein Leben Und Seine Werke, by Albert Bielschowsky [1914] (Call. No. PT2051 .B5 1914)

Goethe-Jahrbuch, by Ludwig Geiger [1980] (Call. No. PT2045 .G6)

Goethes Faust, by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe [1936] (Call. No. PT1916 .A1 1936a)

Goethes Gt̲z von Berlichingen Mit Der Eisernen Hand, by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe [1910] (Call. No. PT1952.A3 H5)

Goethe's Gt̲z von Berlichingen Mit Der Eisernen Hand, Ein Schauspiel, by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe [1896] (Call. No. PT1952.A3 G6 1896)

Goethe's Urfaust, by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe [1938] (Call. No. PT1917 .A1 1938)

Goethes Werke In Sechs Bñden,by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe [c1920s] (Call. No. PT1891 .C25)

Hebbels Werke, by Friedrich Hebbel [1899] (Call. No. PT2295 .A3 1899)

Heinrich Heines Gedichte, by Heinrich Heine [1925] (Call. No. PT2301 .A1 1925)

Hermann Und Dorothea, by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe [1915] (Call. No. PT1911.H4 T4 1915)

Kabale Und Liebe: Ein Bürgerliches Trauerspiel, by Friedrich Schiller [1955] (Call. No. PT2468 .K2 1955)

Kleine Anthologie Deutscher Lyrik, by Otto Siegfried Fleissner [1935] (Call. No. PT115 .F55)

Komödien, by Friedrich Dürrenmatt [1957] (Call. No. PT2607.U493 A19 1957)

Lebendige Literatur; Deutsches Lesebuch fur Anfänger, by Frank Glessner Ryder [1960] (Call. No. PF3117 .R89)

Lessing, Emilia Galotti, by Walter Fischer [1959] (Call. No. PT2398.E5 F5)

Meisterwerke Der Deutschen Sprache/, by Edward Diller [1970] (Call. No. PF3117 .D55)

Moderne Einakter, by Hans Jaeger [1947] (Call. No. PT1268 .J3)

Porträts Aus Dem Goethe-Kreis In Miniaturen, by Albert Bielschowsky [1976] (Call. No. PT2143.A2 G57 1976)

Quellen Und Darstellungen Aus Deutscher Geschichte, by George Salamon [1968] (Call. No. PF3127.H5 S2)

Reclams Schauspielführer, by Otto C. A. (Otto Carl August Zur Nedden [1965] (Call. No. PN6114 .R4)

Schiller, Eine Einführing In Leben Und Werke, by Benno von Wiese [1966] (Call. No. PT2482.Z8 W48)

Schiller: Bilder Aus Seinem Leben, by Hermann Binder [1954] (Call. No. PT2482.Z8 S33 1954)

Schillers Werke In Zwei Bñden, by Friedrich Schiller [1945] (Call. No. PT2465 .B455 1945)

Spiegel Der Zeit, by Paulene Hadaway Roth [1960] (Call. No. PF3117 .R67)

The Chinese Wall: (Die Chinesische Mauer), A Farce, by Max Frisch [1961] (Call. No. PT2611.R814 C53)

The Gretchen Episode From Goethe's Faust, by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe [1950] (Call. No. PT1917.A6 H4)

Three Tales, by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe [1964] (Call. No. PT2027.A2 R8 1964)

Über Anmut Und Würde. Über Das Erhabene,by Friedrich Schiller [1963] (Call. No. BH183 .S285)

Ursprunge Del Seelenforschung, by Ludwig Klages [c1952] (Call. No. BD181 .K5 1952)

Vom Bild Zum Wort; Ein Buch furSprech- Und Aufsatzübungen, by Werner Neuse [1938] (Call. No. PF3420 .N45)

Weltgeschichte,by Leopold von Ranke [1883-88] (Call. No. D20 .R2)

Wilhelm Tell: Schauspiel von Friedrich Schiller, by Friedrich Schiller [1913] (Call. No. PT2468.T3 S4)

Wilhelm Tell; Schauspiel, by Friedrich Schiller [1965] (Call. No. PT2468 .T3 1965)

Woher?: Ableitendes Wörterbuch Der Deutschen Sprache, by Ernst Wasserzieher [1935] (Call. No. PF3580 .W35 1935)

Wolfram's von Eschenbach Parzival Und Titurel, by von Eschenbach Wolfram [1935] (Call. No. PT1682.P2 B3 1935)

Wolfram's von Eschenbach Parzival Und Titurel, by von Eschenbach Wolfram [1923-27] (Call. No. PT1682.P2 F23)

Woyzeck, by Georg Büchner [1969] (Call. No. PT1828.B6 A745 1969)