Find Articles in Library Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals in a wide range of subjects, plus magazines, reports, books, and more
- MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Select full text articles from journals relevant to literature, language, and linguistics, plus coverage for book essays, books, and dissertations - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primarily full text (excluding most recent 3 - 5 years) for journal articles in the humanities, social sciences, statistics, and mathematics - Project MUSE Electronic Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences
- Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals and magazines relevant to theology, religion, and philosophy
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and more
Type citation information in to the OneSearch box to quickly see if UHCL has access to an article
Creating a Good Search
Find more (broaden your results) with OR and wildcards:
poetry or poem or sonnet*
Find less (narrow your results) with AND:
beloved and morrison
Find less with NOT:
(whales or whaling) not moby dick
Find less by selecting limiters (peer-reviewed, date, etc.).
Some databases require quotation marks for an "exact phrase".
If you're not finding enough, try simplifying your search, and remove less critical keywords or concepts.
- Thesaurus.comAnswers from Roget's New Millennium Thesaurus
- Britannica This link opens in a new windowFull text academic edition of Encyclopedia Britannica and Merriam-Webster Dictionary; includes video and audio clips
- Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Gale’s eBook platform provides comprehensive support from many of today’s top publishers.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowLandmark historical resource that defines and illustrates through quotations the use of English language words from earliest known occurrence to present
(1:57) Learn how logical operators AND and OR work to help you get good results in library research databases.
(2:05) Learn how to retrieve varying forms of a word and improve search results.
Finding Scholarly Articles on Your Topic
These tutorials include practice in Neumann Library web-based resources and self-quiz questions to help you check your understanding.
- Step 1: Choose a Relevant Research DatabaseLearn how to find subject-specific and other research databases in Databases A-Z and library research guides
- Step 2: Create an Effective First SearchLearn how to choose keywords and how to use logical operators, wildcards, basic limiters, and more
- Step 3: Critically Review and Refine Search ResultsLearn how to identify scholarly articles and to find and use database subject terms, field, and other specialized limiters
See also:
