Research Guides: Instructional Design and Technology: Articles & Journals

Search for articles in library databases

Education Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for approximately 2,850 journals, with additional coverage for books and conference papers
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for journal articles (EJ references) and Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) documents (ED references)
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from SAGE journals in education, the social sciences and humanities, health sciences, life and biomedical sciences, and materials science and engineering
ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from ACM journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and some co-sponsored publications

For a complete list of library research databases, see Databases A-Z.

Depending on your topic, these databases also may be relevant.

Professional Development Collection (Education) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals and trade magazines for educators
Educational Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals and magazines on educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and more
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals in a wide range of subjects, plus magazines, reports, books, and more
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from Elsevier journals in the physical sciences/engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences/humanities

A peer-reviewed (or refereed) journal:

uses experts from the same subject field or profession as the author to evaluate a manuscript prior to acceptance for publication
has articles that report on research studies or provide scholarly analysis of topics
may include book reviews, editorials, or other brief items that are not considered scholarly articles

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
Explains key elements from the first & last page of a typical scholarly or academic article. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

Peer Review in 3 Minutes

(3:15) Explains the academic publishing process for research articles and scholarly journals, including the quality control process of peer review. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

Finding Scholarly Articles on Your Topic

These tutorials include practice in Neumann Library web-based resources and self-quiz questions to help you check your understanding.

Step 1: Choose a Relevant Research Database
Learn how to find subject-specific and other research databases in Databases A-Z and library research guides
Step 2: Create an Effective First Search
Learn how to choose keywords and how to use logical operators, wildcards, basic limiters, and more
Step 3: Critically Review and Refine Search Results
Learn how to identify scholarly articles and to find and use database subject terms, field, and other specialized limiters

Sample searches:

Keyword exact phrase: "community policing"
doi: 10.1177/1098611110365689
Article title exact phrase: "effective police interactions with youth"

Select any desired filters (e.g., peer-reviewed journals, available online) on results screen.