History

Legislative and executive documents, many originating from the important period between 1789 and the beginning of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817 (See also U.S. Congressional Serial Set)

Important documents in European and American history.

This source is a digital publishing initiative of the University Library of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The texts and materials come mainly from the library's southern holdings.

A University of Houston-based website that contains 46 first-person accounts of slavery and African life from 1682 to 1937.

Legislative information, historical exhibits, primary source material, and more from the Library of Congress.

Primary source collection from the Library of Congress that celebrates Abraham Lincoln’s life.

NARA preserves historically valuable archives of the U.S. government, including documents, photographs, images, maps, audio clips, letters, speeches, and films.

Contains thousands of primary sources relating to the Depression and the New Deal.

Contains primary sources on 19th-century America.

Contains primary source material on a variety of topics.

Texas State Library and Archives Division

One thousand, two hundred eighty images, most of which date from the era of slavery.

Primary source material on Jefferson Davis.

A collection of more than 8,000 items that documents the Lower Rio Grande Valley during the early 1900s.

A website on the impact of the Civil War on two counties, Franklin County in Pennsylvania and Augusta County in Virginia. Contains much primary source material.

(1790- ) U.S. Census data tables and mapping files