Research Guides: Geography: Articles & Journals

Search for articles in library databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals in a wide range of subjects, plus magazines, reports, books, and more
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals on U.S. and Canadian history and culture with some coverage of books and conference papers
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from Elsevier journals in the physical sciences/engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences/humanities
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for journal articles, books, and conference proceedings on agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, pollution, and affiliated areas of study
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primarily full text (excluding most recent 3 - 5 years) for journal articles in the humanities, social sciences, statistics, and mathematics
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles and references from journals in science, the social sciences, and art and humanities; selected full text available via Find It @ UHCL; results can be sorted by times cited; use Cited Reference search to find works that cite an earlier article or publication

For a complete list of library research databases, see Databases A-Z.

Depending on your topic, these databases also may be relevant.

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines, government reports, and books on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from SAGE journals in education, the social sciences and humanities, health sciences, life and biomedical sciences, and materials science and engineering
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for journal and magazine articles, books, and more on world history and related social science literature with a focus on areas outside the U.S. and Canada

A peer-reviewed (or refereed) journal:

uses experts from the same subject field or profession as the author to evaluate a manuscript prior to acceptance for publication
has articles that report on research studies or provide scholarly analysis of topics
may include book reviews, editorials, or other brief items that are not considered scholarly articles

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
Explains key elements from the first & last page of a typical scholarly or academic article. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

Peer Review in 3 Minutes

(3:15) Explains the academic publishing process for research articles and scholarly journals, including the quality control process of peer review. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

Finding Scholarly Articles on Your Topic

These tutorials include practice in Neumann Library web-based resources and self-quiz questions to help you check your understanding.

Step 1: Choose a Relevant Research Database
Learn how to find subject-specific and other research databases in Databases A-Z and library research guides
Step 2: Create an Effective First Search
Learn how to choose keywords and how to use logical operators, wildcards, basic limiters, and more
Step 3: Critically Review and Refine Search Results
Learn how to identify scholarly articles and to find and use database subject terms, field, and other specialized limiters

Sample searches:

Keywords: (juvenile OR youth) AND police interaction
doi: 10.1177/1098611110365689
Article/journal title: Effective police interactions with youth, Police Quarterly

Google Scholar UHCL Full Text settings
Add a Find It @ UHCL link to Google Scholar to directly access article full text