Research Guides: Engineering Management: Articles & Journals

Find Articles in Research Databases

IEEE Xplore Digital Library
Selected full text for journal articles and proceedings of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology; includes full text of active IEEE standards
ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery)
Selected full text articles from ACM journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and some co-sponsored publications
Applied Science & Technology Source
Selected full text articles for English-language journals, reports, conference papers, etc., in engineering, acoustics, chemistry, computers, metallurgy, physics, plastics, telecommunications, transportation, waste management, and more
Web of Science
Identifies articles and references from journals in science, the social sciences, and art and humanities; selected full text available via Find It @ UHCL; results can be sorted by times cited; use Cited Reference search to find works that cite an earlier article or publication

Depending on your topic, these databases also may be relevant:

CiteSeerX (Computer Science)
Full text, open access computer science articles, papers, and technical reports
Computer Source
Selected full text articles from journals and magazines covering computers, telecommunications, electronics and the Internet
Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Selected full text articles from journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and more
Science and Technology Collection
Selected full text articles from journals, trade, and popular magazines covering scientific and technical fields
Academic Search Complete
Selected full text articles from journals in a wide range of subjects, plus magazines, reports, books, and more

For a complete list of library research databases, see Databases A-Z.

Sample searches:
project management for engineers
"engineering contracts"

On results screen, add desired filters:

Availability: peer-reviewed journals
Resource Type: articles

For more complex searches like civil engineering AND (contracts OR specifications), use Advanced Search.

While it doesn't offer some of the sophisticated options available in research databases, Google Scholar can be helpful. See instructions for customizing Google Scholar to provide Full Text @ UHCL links in results.

A peer-reviewed (or refereed) journal:

uses experts from the same subject field or profession as the author to evaluate a manuscript prior to acceptance for publication
has articles that report on research studies or provide scholarly analysis of topics
may include book reviews, editorials, or other brief items that are not considered scholarly articles

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
Explains key elements from the first & last page of a typical scholarly or academic article. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

Peer Review in 3 Minutes

(3:15) Explains the academic publishing process for research articles and scholarly journals, including the quality control process of peer review. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

Get Full Text for an Article

If a database lacks immediate full text, click Find It @ UHCL in results to check for full text from another source. Follow Available Online links in OneSearch to a resource with full text for UH Clear Lake users as shown below.