Research Guides: Criminology: Articles & Journals

Search for articles in library databases

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and more
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from SAGE journals in education, the social sciences and humanities, health sciences, life and biomedical sciences, and materials science and engineering
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals in sociology and related areas of history, anthropology, social work, political science, psychology, and law
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Primarily full text for news sources from around the world, including broadcast transcripts, plus law review journals, statutory, case law, and other legal resources, company and industry information, and more
Westlaw Classic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text statutes, codes, regulations, and case law, plus secondary sources including Black's Law Dictionary, law review journals, and more

For a complete list of library research databases, see Databases A-Z.

Depending on your topic, these databases also may be relevant.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for government reports and data relevant to criminal justice, corrections, and drugs; sponsored by the Dept. of Justice
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals in a wide range of subjects, plus magazines, reports, books, and more
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Primarily full text for news sources from around the world, including broadcast transcripts, plus law review journals, statutory, case law, and other legal resources, company and industry information, and more

A peer-reviewed (or refereed) journal:

uses experts from the same subject field or profession as the author to evaluate a manuscript prior to acceptance for publication
has articles that report on research studies or provide scholarly analysis of topics
may include book reviews, editorials, or other brief items that are not considered scholarly articles

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
Explains key elements from the first & last page of a typical scholarly or academic article. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

Peer Review in 3 Minutes

(3:15) Explains the academic publishing process for research articles and scholarly journals, including the quality control process of peer review. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

Finding Scholarly Articles on Your Topic

These tutorials include practice in Neumann Library web-based resources and self-quiz questions to help you check your understanding.

Step 1: Choose a Relevant Research Database
Learn how to find subject-specific and other research databases in Databases A-Z and library research guides
Step 2: Create an Effective First Search
Learn how to choose keywords and how to use logical operators, wildcards, basic limiters, and more
Step 3: Critically Review and Refine Search Results
Learn how to identify scholarly articles and to find and use database subject terms, field, and other specialized limiters

Finding Scholarly Articles on Your Topic

Finding Scholarly Articles on Your Topic

These tutorials include practice in Neumann Library web-based resources and self-quiz questions to help you check your understanding.

Step 1: Choose a Relevant Research Database
Learn how to find subject-specific and other research databases in Databases A-Z and library research guides
Step 2: Create an Effective First Search
Learn how to choose keywords and how to use logical operators, wildcards, basic limiters, and more
Step 3: Critically Review and Refine Search Results
Learn how to identify scholarly articles and to find and use database subject terms, field, and other specialized limiters

(1:55) Learn how to locate full text using Find It @ UHCL, interlibrary loan, or a known article citation.

(3:12) Distinguishes characteristics of scholarly articles/journals from those of popular articles/magazines. Peabody Library, Vanderbilt Univ.

Get an Article from a Citation

Sample citation:
Hollis-Peel, M., Reynald, D., van Bavel, M., Elffers, H., & Welsh, B. (2011). Guardianship for crime prevention: A critical review of the literature. Crime, Law and Social Change, 56, 53-70. doi:10.1007/s10611-011-9309-2

Use OneSearch to look for a DOI (digital object identifier). If there's no DOI, search for a distinctive "exact phrase" from the article title. Add an author name if needed. Examples:

10.1007/s10611-011-9309-2
"guardianship for crime prevention"
"guardianship for crime prevention" hollis-peel

As an alternative, or to check if the library has paper copy, search the title of the journal (e.g., crime, law, and social change) in the Journals List search box below:

If an article isn't available online, submit an article request.

Request a book, article, or other item
ILLiad Interlibrary Loan logon