Research Guides: Communication and Digital Media: Articles & Journals

Find Articles in Research Databases

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals and magazines with some coverage for books and conference papers
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Primarily full text for news sources from around the world, including broadcast transcripts, plus law review journals, statutory, case law, and other legal resources, company and industry information, and more
ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from ACM journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and some co-sponsored publications
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals, magazines, and trade publications, including industry and country reports, MarketLine company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from approximately 1,400 journals in literature, history, the creative arts, and humanities
Project MUSE Electronic Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences

Depending on your topic, these databases also may be relevant.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals in a wide range of subjects, plus magazines, reports, books, and more
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primarily full text (excluding most recent 3 - 5 years) for journal articles in the humanities, social sciences, statistics, and mathematics
Readers' Guide Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from popular magazines, with some coverage for journals, trade publications, books, and more
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles and references from journals in science, the social sciences, and art and humanities; selected full text available via Find It @ UHCL; results can be sorted by times cited; use Cited Reference search to find works that cite an earlier article or publication

Sample searches:
"shakespeare william" AND "love or courtship or marriage"
"cat and hot tin roof" AND (masculin* OR homosexual*)
Refine your search with filters on results screen: scholarly & peer-reviewed, full text online, etc,

Image of sidebar with instructions: If a database lacks immediate full text, click Find It @ UHCL in results to check for full text from another source. If full text fails to load, expand the Find It @ UHCL Neumann Library sidebar on the right of the screen for more options, including links to submit an article request or chat with a librarian.

While it doesn't offer some of the sophisticated options available in research databases, Google Scholar can be very helpful. See also Google Scholar Advanced Search. Look for Full Text @ UHCL links in results.