Research Guides: BIOL 4278: Seminar in Biology: Find Articles

Find Research Articles

Approach #1 -- OneSearch:

Sample natural language search:
how does ocean acidification affect the survival of coral reef fish

On results screen, add desired filters:

availability: peer-reviewed journals
resource type: articles

Approach #2 -- Individual subject databases:

Sample searches with keywords, logical operators, & wildcards:
ocean acidification AND reef fish
ocean acidification AND (reef fish OR shellfish)
ocean acidification AND (reef fish OR shellfish) AND (survival OR predat*)

Select desired limiters on initial search screen or while viewing results. Look for official subject terms, and use them to refine your search if needed.

BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes biomedical and life sciences research in theoretical and applied biology; provides organism, taxa, development stage, chemical role, and other biology-specific limiters
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from biomedical and related journals, with clinical guidelines and more from the National Library of Medicine
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles and references from journals in science, the social sciences, and art and humanities; selected full text available via Find It @ UHCL; results can be sorted by times cited; use Cited Reference search to find works that cite an earlier article or publication
PubMed (UHCL) This link opens in a new window
Includes UHCL subscriptions; off-campus access restricted to UHCL users; indexes "biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books" with selected full text
AGRICOLA (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
National Agricultural Library's book catalog and journal article citation index (selected full text via EBSCOhost)
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from popular and professional scientific journals
BioOne This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from approximately 80 journals and bulletins in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences published by the American Institute of Biological Sciences

Find additional choices in the Biological Sciences guide.

For preprints, see:

bioRxiv
A free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences (Pronounced "bio-archive")

Tips for finding review articles:

Use the literature review literature type limiter in BIOSIS Previews
Look for a review document type in Web of Science search results
Look for the terms review or meta-analysis in article titles

In BIOSIS Previews:

Screenshot of Literature Type limiter in BIOSIS Previews

In Web of Science:

Shows document type review in search results

BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes biomedical and life sciences research in theoretical and applied biology; provides organism, taxa, development stage, chemical role, and other biology-specific limiters
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles and references from journals in science, the social sciences, and art and humanities; selected full text available via Find It @ UHCL; results can be sorted by times cited; use Cited Reference search to find works that cite an earlier article or publication

Sample citation:

Faria AM, Lopes AF, Silva CSE, Novais SC, Lemos MFL, Goncalves EJ. 2018. Reproductive trade-offs in a temperate reef fish under high pc0(2) levels. Mar Environ Res. 137:8-15. doi:10.1016/j.marenvres.2018.02.027

Use OneSearch to look for a DOI (digital object identifier) or to search for a distinctive "exact phrase" from the article title. Add an author name if needed. Examples:

10.1016/j.marenvres.2018.02.027
"reproductive trade-offs in a temperate reef fish"
"reproductive trade-offs in a temperate reef fish" AND faria

If an article isn't available online, submit an article request.

Request a book, article, or other item
ILLiad Interlibrary Loan logon

All that JAS (Journal Abbreviations Sources)
Institute for Scientific Information (ISI) Journal Abbreviations
Caltech Library, California Institute of Technology
Science and Engineering Journal Abbreviations
Woodward Library, University of British Columbia

A peer-reviewed (or refereed) journal:

uses experts from the same subject field or profession as the author to evaluate a manuscript prior to acceptance for publication
has articles that report on research studies or provide scholarly analysis of topics
may include book reviews, editorials, or other brief items that are not considered scholarly articles

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
Explains key elements from the first & last page of a typical scholarly or academic article. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

Peer Review in 3 Minutes

(3:15) Explains the academic publishing process for research articles and scholarly journals, including the quality control process of peer review. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

Get Full Text for an Article

If a database lacks immediate full text, click Find It @ UHCL in results to check for full text from another source. Follow Available Online links in OneSearch to a resource with full text for UH Clear Lake users as shown below.

If full text is not found, submit an article request.

Request a book, article, or other item
ILLiad Interlibrary Loan logon
Locating Full Text Articles and Journals