Library Widgets, Plug-ins and Tools: Search Library Catalog & Databases

info

You can save time when looking for articles, books, and more,  if you first put boxes on your personal website or add library databases to the dropdown menu of search engines in your browser. Bookmarklets and browser search bars are also useful. Choose the ones of most interest to you from the subpages linked on the left.

Add to Browser

Toolbar you use to search the library catalog without leaving your current page.

Ever visited a web page and wanted to find more scholarly information on the same subject? Clicking this bookmarklet will automatically search UHCL OneSearch for the title of the page you are visiting. (You can edit the query if you like, to remove or add other keywords.)

Instructions

  • Firefox: right click the OneSearch Quick link below and then select "Bookmark this Link"
  • Internet Explorer: right click the OneSearch Quick link below and then select "Add to Favorites"
  • Safari or Chrome: drag the OneSearch Quick link below to your bookmarks bar

OneSearch Quick

See special instructions for iPhone, iPod, iPad below.

Subjects include arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences

Loading ...

Add to Website

For any search box listed here:

  1. Copy the code
  2. Paste it into an HTML document on your personal web page

  • A set of databases with information on almost any subject
  • Checklist of databases lets you search all or only those you choose 

If the search box displays when you click the link, use the view source function in your browser to see the code to copy.

Collection of general interest health and fitness magazines, medical and professional periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and topical reviews.

Subjects include botany, ecology, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics.

If the search box displays when you click this link, use the view source function in your browser to see the code to copy.

Find subjects including accounting & tax, criminal justice, psychology and more in journals, dissertations & theses, and newspapers. Historical databases must be selected separately by clicking the "databases selected" link after a search is done. 

Has biographies of authors, bibliographies of all they have written, critical essays and contextual information from literary journals, critical essays, work overviews, plot summaries and explications. Also has links to authoritative related Web sites, author biographies and author portraits.

Subjects include arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences

Loading ...
Bayou Building 2402, 2700 Bay Area Blvd, Houston, TX 77058-1002