Library Widgets, Plug-ins and Tools: Find Background Information

info

  • find overviews or introductions to a subject
  • identify possible directions for a topic you're exploring
  • put a narrow topic into context
  • identify facts, names, dates, etc.

Add to Your Website or Browser

Copy / paste one of these to your website

Iframe:

<iframe src='http://support.gale.com/widgets/reader/?loc=txshracd2589&dir=bic1' scrolling='no' marginwidth='0' marginheight='0' frameborder='0' style = 'width:180px;height:95px;'></iframe>

Javascript:

<script language = 'Javascript' src = 'http://support.gale.com/widgets/reader/widget.js'></script><div id = 'bic1_widget' style = 'height:95px;width:180px;'>x</div><script>getWidget('txshracd2589','bic1','BIC1','','95','180','','','Arial','FFFFFF','','','','')</script>

Quickly and easily explore key people, places and topics with these tools from Encyclopedia Britannica

Copy / paste to your website

<iframe src="http://original.search.eb.com/sboxes/html/Britannica_ae.html" frameborder=0 width=280 height=90 scrolling=no>

Search Box Widget

Get widget for Mac OS 10.4

Specific Topic Widgets

Get topic widgets

  1. Go to CQ Widgets page
  2. Scroll down to CQ Researcher
  3. Click Get This Widget link under the search box picture
  4. Copy/paste the code in the box into your website

Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources. Subjects include arts, biography, business, education, history, social science and more.

Copy / paste one of these to your website

Iframe:

<iframe src='http://support.gale.com/widgets/reader/?loc=txshracd2589&dir=gvrl' scrolling='no' marginwidth='0' marginheight='0' frameborder='0' style = 'width:180px;height:95px;'></iframe>

Javascript:

<script language = 'Javascript' src = 'http://support.gale.com/widgets/reader/widget.js'></script><div id = 'gvrl_widget' style = 'height:95px;width:180px;'>x</div><script>getWidget('txshracd2589','gvrl','GVRL','','95','180','','','Arial','FFFFFF','','','','')</script>

Copy / paste one of these into your website

Iframe:

<iframe src='http://support.gale.com/widgets/reader/?loc=txshracd2589&dir=ovic' scrolling='no' marginwidth='0' marginheight='0' frameborder='0' style = 'width:180px;height:95px;'></iframe>

Javascript:

<script language = 'Javascript' src = 'http://support.gale.com/widgets/reader/widget.js'></script><div id = 'ovic_widget' style = 'height:95px;width:180px;'>x</div><script>getWidget('txshracd2589','ovic','OVIC','','95','180','','','Arial','FFFFFF','','','','')</script>

Add Oxford English Dictionary to your browser

With this feature, you can highlight a word in any web site, click the ‘Search Oxford English Dictionary’ button on your browser toolbar, and your browser window will display the results of a Quick Search for the selected text.

Please note that you need to have JavaScript enabled to add the Search Oxford English Dictionary button on to your browser.

Internet Explorer

  • Place your mouse cursor over the following link: Search Oxford English Dictionary
  • Click the right mouse button and select ‘Add to Favorites …’
  • Click ‘Yes’ to continue (our code is safe)
  • In the ‘Add a Favorite’ dialog, select ‘Favorites bar’ in the ‘Create in‘ menu, then click ‘Add’.

Can’t see it? If you cannot see your Favorites toolbar, go to the Tools » Toolbars menu, then click on ‘Favorites Bar’. If you can see your Favorites toolbar but not the Oxford English Dictionary button, drag the toolbar across your screen to make more of the toolbar visible.

Firefox

 

Add Oxford English Dictionary to your search menu

Users of Firefox and Internet Explorer 7 and later can add an option to their browser’s search menu:

  • In Firefox, open the search menu and click ‘Add Oxford English Dictionary’.
  • Internet Explorer 7 and 8, open the search menu, go to ‘Add search providers’, and click ‘Oxford English Dictionary’.
Loading ...
Bayou Building 2402, 2700 Bay Area Blvd, Houston, TX 77058-1002