Skip to Main Content

Elsevier/Science Direct Alternative Access: Search for Open Access Copies

Open Access Repositories

Many repositories host open access content:

Directory of Open Access Repositories - DOAR helps you find academic institutional repositories of open working papers, theses and dissertations, books and journals.

Directory of Open Access Journals - DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high-quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed. All data is freely available.

Directory of Open Access Books - DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.

PubMed Central - PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

HathiTrust - HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Project Gutenberg - Project Gutenberg is an online library of free eBooks. 

 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar - Provides links to free, open access versions of articles if available.

Bayou Building 2402, 2700 Bay Area Blvd, Houston, TX 77058-1002