HLTH 3315: Health Promotion Programs: Articles & Journals

Find Articles in Research Databases

Depending on your topic, these databases also may be relevant.



Advanced Search

Sample searches:
   "cardiovascular exercise" OR "aerobic exercise"
   (longevity OR aging) AND (diet OR nutrition)
Refine your search with filters on results screen: scholarly and peer review, full text online, etc.

While it doesn't offer some of the sophisticated options available in research databases, Google Scholar can be helpful. See instructions for customizing Google Scholar to provide Full Text @ UHCL links in results.

A peer-reviewed (or refereed) journal:

  • uses experts from the same subject field or profession as the author to evaluate a manuscript prior to acceptance for publication
  • has articles that report on research studies or provide scholarly analysis of topics
  • may include book reviews, editorials, or other brief items that are not considered scholarly articles
Peer Review in 3 Minutes

(3:15) Explains the academic publishing process for research articles and scholarly journals, including the quality control process of peer review. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

Loading ...

Get Full Text for an Article

If a database lacks immediate full text, click Find It @ UHCL in results to check for full text from another source. Follow Available Online links in OneSearch to a resource with full text for UH Clear Lake users as shown below.

Shows Find It at UHCL leading to full text in EBSCOhost PsycARTICLES

If full text is not found, submit an article request.

Recommended Journals

To find out if the library has a specific journal, enter the title in the search box. To browse journals by topic, click the links below.

sample journal covers

Find journals by journal title or ISSN

Bayou Building 2402, 2700 Bay Area Blvd, Houston, TX 77058-1002