WRIT 3307 (Diepenbrock): Advanced Writing: Find Articles

Resources for Advanced Writing

Find Criticism and Commentary Articles

Sample search in NexisUni:

serena williams cartoon

(in News content and with a date range limiter for September 10 to October 1, 2018)

Sample search as described above

Approach #1 -- OneSearch:

Sample natural language search: 
how muslims are depicted in the media

On results screen, add desired filters:

  • Availability: peer-reviewed journals
  • Resource Type: articles


Advanced Search

Approach #2 -- Individual Research Databases:

Sample searches:
islamaphobia AND news media
islam* AND news media
(islam* OR muslims) AND (media OR news) AND (coverage OR portrayal)

Select desired limiters (e.g., peer-reviewed journals) on initial search screen or while viewing results. Look for official subject terms, and use them to refine your search if needed.

Complete list of library research databases: Databases A-Z



Advanced Search

When you already have a citation, use OneSearch to look for full text. Search with a DOI (digital object identifier) or a distinctive "exact phrase" from the article title. If needed, add an author name.

Sample citation:
Abdullah, M. A. S. (2015). Muslims in pre- and post-9/11 contexts. International Journal of Comparative Literature and Translation Studies, 3(3), 52-59. doi:10.7575/aiac.ijclts.v.3n.3p.52

Sample searches:

  • 10.7575/aiac.ijclts.v.3n.3p.52
  • "muslims in pre- and post"
  • "muslims in pre- and post" abdullah

A peer-reviewed (or refereed) journal:

  • uses experts from the same subject field or profession as the author to evaluate a manuscript prior to acceptance for publication
  • has articles that report on research studies or provide scholarly analysis of topics
  • may include book reviews, editorials, or other brief items that are not considered scholarly articles
Peer Review in 3 Minutes

(3:15) Explains the academic publishing process for research articles and scholarly journals, including the quality control process of peer review. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

Finding Scholarly Articles on Your Topic

These tutorials include practice in Neumann Library web-based resources and self-quiz questions to help you check your understanding.

Find ART Articles:

Find COMM Articles:

Find CRIM Articles

Find FHP Articles:

Find HIST Articles

Find HUMN Articles:

Find PSYC Articles:

Find SOCI Articles:

Google Scholar

While it doesn't offer some of the sophisticated options available in research databases, Google Scholar can be helpful. See instructions for setting Google Scholar to provide Full Text @ UHCL links in results.

Google Scholar Search

Multidisciplinary Database

What is Peer Review?

A peer-reviewed (or refereed) journal uses experts from the same subject field or profession as the author to evaluate a manuscript prior to its acceptance for publication.

Note: Peer-reviewed journals may include book reviews, editorials, or other brief items that are not considered scholarly articles.

Find an article or journal

Finding Scholarly Articles on Your Topic

These tutorials include practice in Neumann Library web-based resources and self-quiz questions to help you check your understanding.



Advanced Search

Find journals by journal title or ISSN


Sample searches:
journal of family issues
0192-513X (ISSN example)

Get an article from a citation:

Sample citation:
Berigan, N., & Irwin, K. (2011). Culture, cooperation, and the general welfare. Social Psychology Quarterly, 74, 341-360. doi:10.1177/0190272511422451

If the citation includes a DOI (digital object identifier), copy and paste it (e.g., doi:10.1177/0190272511422451) into OneSearch. If there's no DOI but the article title has a distinctive phrase, try searching the phrase with quotation marks (e.g., "culture cooperation and the general").


Bayou Building 2402, 2700 Bay Area Blvd, Houston, TX 77058-1002