Find Articles in Research Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Includes full text of complete backfiles of selected Mathematics and Statistical Science journals. - MathSciNet This link opens in a new windowAccess to a database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for mathematical sciences literature.
- MathSciNet (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes American Mathematical Society journals, books, and proceedings, with selected full text via Find It @ UHCL - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles and references from journals in science, the social sciences, and art and humanities; selected full text available via Find It @ UHCL; results can be sorted by times cited; use Cited Reference search to find works that cite an earlier article or publication
- Zentralblatt MathIndex and abstracts, including includes JFM (1868 - present). The library does not have a current subscription to this index, but searchers can view up to the first three reviews of every search result.
Depending on your topic, these databases may be relevant. If needed, more choices are in Databases A-Z.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals in a wide range of subjects, plus magazines, reports, books, and more
- General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text of articles in popular science magazines, professional journals, and the New York Times Science Section - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for Elsevier journals in the physical sciences/engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences/humanities - Science and Technology Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for over 1,700 academic journals, trade, and popular magazines covering scientific and technical fields
- Archives of American Mathematics"The Archives of American Mathematics (AAM) is dedicated to collecting, preserving, and providing access to the records of American mathematicians and mathematical organizations for use by historians, mathematicians, educators, and others interested in the history and development of mathematics."
Sample searches:
"critical thinking" AND "higher education"
(race OR racial) AND (discriminat* OR prejudic*)
Select limiters (articles from scholarly publications, date, etc.) on results screen
While it doesn't offer some of the sophisticated options available in research databases, Google Scholar can be helpful. See instructions for customizing Google Scholar to provide Full Text @ UHCL links in results.
A peer-reviewed (or refereed) journal:
- uses experts from the same subject field or profession as the author to evaluate a manuscript prior to acceptance for publication
- has articles that report on research studies or provide scholarly analysis of topics
- may include book reviews, editorials, or other brief items that are not considered scholarly articles
- Anatomy of a Scholarly ArticleExplains key elements from the first & last page of a typical scholarly or academic article. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries
Peer Review in 3 Minutes
(3:15) Explains the academic publishing process for research articles and scholarly journals, including the quality control process of peer review. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries
Get Full Text for an Article
If a database lacks immediate full text, click Find It @ UHCL in results to check for full text from another source. Follow Available Online links in OneSearch to a resource with full text for UH Clear Lake users as shown below.
If full text is not found, submit an article request.
- Request a book, article, or other itemILLiad Interlibrary Loan logon
