Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UHCL Archives and Special Collections

Information on planning research at the UHCL Archives and Special Collections; created by Erin Henry and Matthew M. Peek

University Archives holdings

In accordance with its core mission, the UHCL Archives shall place highest priority on acquiring institutional records which possess permanent administrative, operational, legal, and historical value regarding the University of Houston-Clear Lake. UHCL collects the University Archives institutional records, based on the state-certified University of Houston System Records Retention Schedule, as it a component institution within the larger University of Houston System of universities.

The University Archives consist of correspondence, records, photographs, publications, periodicals, outreach materials, program materials, oral histories, broadsides, and other materials, that document the founding and development of the University of Houston-Clear Lake. The institutional records include materials from student groups and publications. The UHCL Archives, on behalf of the Neumann Library, houses a print collection of student theses written by UHCL students. With the University moving to a digital thesis system, the Archives no longer actively collects theses, but maintains the past printed thesis collection for researchers.

University Archival Materials Collected

For University of Houston-Clear Lake historic institutional materials, the following types of records and formats are given highest collecting priority:

  • Administrative reports (particularly annual and other types of reports)
  • Biographical records
  • Committee records
  • Correspondence
  • Photographs
  • Architectural and engineering drawings and records
  • Policies and procedures
  • University of Houston-Clear Lake publications
  • Student organization records
  • Special events records

For UHCL faculty, staff, and student organizations looking to transfer materials to the University Archives, please contact the UHCL Archives at 281-283-3962, or email us at archives@uhcl.edu. The UHCL Archives uses a records transfer form that all those wishing to transfer materials are required to complete before the Archives will accept the materials into its holdings. Transfer forms are available electronically from the UHCL Archives upon request.

Bayou Building 2402, 2700 Bay Area Blvd, Houston, TX 77058-1002