Skip to main content

Online Library Services & Continuity: Home

Welcome

This guide provides information about current library resources and services.

Updates will continue to be posted here -- thank you.


 

Neumann Library and Pearland Library have temporarily transitioned to an online-only service model.  The library physical spaces and locations are closed until further notice. Current library services are as follows:

Access to library resources

Online resources

  • Current UHCL students and staff may access the library’s 300+ databases and 200,000+ ebooks from off campus.
  • To access online resources, either search in OneSearch or select a database from the Databases A-Z list.  When prompted, log in with your campus and Blackboard username and password.
  • For problems accessing online resources, please either consult the Database Access guide or report the problem to library@uhcl.edu

Books and other materials

  • Physical materials (books, DVDs, etc.) from the UHCL Neumann and Pearland Libraries are available for delivery by mail to current UHCL employees and degree-credit students.
    • Estimated delivery time is 1 week and there are limits to the number and size of items that can be mailed.
    • Reserve items are not currently available.
  • To request materials:
    • Find the items you want in OneSearch.  You can limit your search to just UHCL and Pearland items by choosing  "UHCL Books and Media" while in Advanced Search.
    • Sign in with your UHCL username/password.
    • Place the mailing address you want the items sent to in the Comment field.
    • Click Send Request.

Due dates, renewals, and returns

  • All UHCL library materials (excluding billed items) that were due before June have had their due dates changed to 8/15/2020.  Faculty checkouts from the general collections have been renewed and are now due 4/15/2021.
  • We encourage you to not return materials to the library at this time. If you need to return items, you may place them in the book drop outside the Bayou building, located next to the entrance by the Patio Café. (click here to view).
  • If you have a library hold on your university account that is preventing you from registering, please email library-cl-circdesk@uhcl.edu
  • If you wish to renew materials or see what you currently have checked out, log in to your Library Account.  All items currently have unlimited renewals.

Article requests & items from other libraries

  • Library staff will continue to monitor and fulfill article requests submitted through ILLiad Interlibrary Loan.  Please note that turnaround time on article requests may be longer than usual.
  • If requests for print materials outside the UH system are submitted in ILLiad Interlibrary Loan, we will attempt to locate an electronic option. If no electronic option is available, the request will not be fulfilled until the library returns to normal operations

Research assistance

  • The library has over 130 research guides that can be accessed at https://uhcl.libguides.com/
  • Librarians are available to help with research, reference, library instruction, and any library-related questions during posted virtual reference hours. Submit all questions to library@uhcl.edu or see additional options in Ask a Librarian. Questions submitted after hours will be answered the next day.

University Archives

  • The UHCL Institutional Repository and Online Exhibits Page are accessible at the University Archives homepage.
  • Access to physical archives materials is unavailable at this time.

Submit a Question

Librarians are available to help during posted virtual hours. To contact us:

Questions submitted after posted hours will be answered the next day.

You may also check our FAQs at https://uhcl.libanswers.com/.

New Resources

Student Jobs

The library is currently accepting applications for student employment.  Apply at https://uhcl.libguides.com/studentjobs.

Bayou Building 2402, 2700 Bay Area Blvd, Houston, TX 77058-1002