Find Articles...
Approach #1 -- OneSearch:
Sample natural language search:
the role of gender in bullying
On results screen, add desired filters:
- Availability: peer-reviewed journals
- Resource Type: articles
Approach #2 -- Education Source, & other subject databases:
Sample searches with keywords, logical operators, & wildcards:
gender AND bullying
(gender OR human sex differences) AND (bullying OR cyberbullying OR harass*)
Select peer-reviewed, publication/document type, and other limiters on initial search screen or while viewing results. Look for official subject terms, and use them to refine your search if needed.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals in a wide range of subjects, plus magazines, reports, books, and more
- Education Source This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for approximately 2,850 journals, with additional coverage for books and conference papers - APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A small subset of PsycINFO; provides complete full text for approximately 120 journals by APA and affiliated publishers - Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (sometimes delayed for six months or more) for approximately 400 journals in psychology and related fields
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
American Psychological Association (APA) content with selected full text articles from approximately 2,500 journals, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, and more
If needed, find more research databases in the Psychology research guide or in Databases A-Z.
Sample citation:
Byrne, H., Dooley, B., Fitzgerald, A., & Dolphin, L. (2016). Adolescents' definitions of bullying: The contribution of age, gender, and experience of bullying. European Journal of Psychology of Education, 31, 403-418. doi:10.1007/s10212-015-0271-8
Use OneSearch to look for a DOI (digital object identifier) or to search for a distinctive "exact phrase" from the article title. Add an author name if needed. Examples:
- 10.1007/s10212-015-0271-8
- "adolescents definitions of bullying"
- "adolescents definitions of bullying" AND byrne
If an article isn't available online, submit an article request.
- Request a book, article, or other itemILLiad Interlibrary Loan logon
- The newest additions to PsycINFO (especially articles with a publication status of "first posting" may not have subject terms assigned yet. While the results won't be as tightly focused, you also may want to try using subject terms as simple keywords (i.e., without requiring them to appear in a subjects field).
- Don't limit to full text when you're exploring a topic in depth. You'll miss full text that's available via Find It @ UHCL.
In databases without APA limiters for age group or methodology:
More about the APA Thesaurus and subject terms:
(4:53) Learn how to improve search results with official subject terms, "explode" a thesaurus term, narrow exploded results, and use major subject headings.
A peer-reviewed (or refereed) journal:
- uses experts from the same subject field or profession as the author to evaluate a manuscript prior to acceptance for publication
- has articles that report on research studies or provide scholarly analysis of topics
- may include book reviews, editorials, or other brief items that are not considered scholarly articles
- Anatomy of a Scholarly ArticleExplains key elements from the first & last page of a typical scholarly or academic article. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries
Peer Review in 3 Minutes
(3:15) Explains the academic publishing process for research articles and scholarly journals, including the quality control process of peer review. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries