Research Guides: SPED 4332: Early Childhood Special Education &amp; ECED 4332: Teaching Young Children with Special Needs: Articles & Journals

Finding Articles

Recommended databases for finding articles and more on special education topics. For tips on database searching see the Search Strategy or Video Tutorials page

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for journal articles (EJ references) and Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) documents (ED references)
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for approximately 2,850 journals, with additional coverage for books and conference papers
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals in a wide range of subjects, plus magazines, reports, books, and more
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from SAGE journals in education, the social sciences and humanities, health sciences, life and biomedical sciences, and materials science and engineering
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles and references from journals in science, the social sciences, and art and humanities; selected full text available via Find It @ UHCL; results can be sorted by times cited; use Cited Reference search to find works that cite an earlier article or publication

Annals of Dyslexia cover image Teaching Children Mathematics cover image Teaching Exceptional Children cover image Journal of Latinos in Education cover image

Sample citation: Onslow, B., Adams, L., Edmunds, G., Waters, J., Chapple, N., Kealey, B. & Eady, J. (2005). Are you in the zone? Teaching Children Mathematics, 11(9): 458-463.

Sample searches

"are you in the zone?"
onslow AND "in the zone"
"in the zone" AND "teaching children mathematics"

Peer review refers to the process in which experts from the same subject field or profession as the author evaluate a manuscript prior to its acceptance for publication in an academic or scholarly journal. Peer-reviewed journals also may be called refereed journals.

Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new window
Describes serials and periodicals (journals, magazines, newspapers, etc.)

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
Explains key elements from the first & last page of a typical scholarly or academic article. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries
Scholarly vs. Popular Articles
(3:05) Distinguishes characteristics of scholarly articles/journals from those of popular articles/magazines. White Library, Spring Arbor Univ.