Find Articles...
Approach #1 -- OneSearch:
Sample natural language search:
how to address gender-related aspects of bullying
On results screen, add desired filters:
- scholarly and peer-reviewed
- journal article
Approach #2 -- PsycINFO, PsycARTICLES, & other subject databases:
Sample searches with keywords, logical operators, & wildcards:
gender AND bullying
(gender OR human sex differences) AND (bullying OR cyberbulling OR harass*)
Select peer-reviewed, publication/document type, and other limiters on initial search screen or while viewing results. Look for official subject terms, and use them to refine your search.
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
American Psychological Association (APA) content with selected full text articles from approximately 2,500 journals, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, and more - APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A small subset of PsycINFO; provides complete full text for approximately 120 journals by APA and affiliated publishers - Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (sometimes delayed for six months or more) for approximately 400 journals in psychology and related fields
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
For industrial and organizational psychology; selected full text - Education Source This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for approximately 2,850 journals, with additional coverage for books and conference papers - MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
For clinical psychology, health psychology, and neuroscience; selected full text - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
For neuroscience, psychotherapy, and more - SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals in sociology and related areas of history, anthropology, social work, political science, psychology, and law - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles and references from journals in science, the social sciences, and art and humanities; selected full text available via Find It @ UHCL; results can be sorted by times cited; use Cited Reference search to find works that cite an earlier article or publication
Find more research databases in the Psychology research guide or in Databases A-Z.
Sample citation:
Byrne, H., Dooley, B., Fitzgerald, A., & Dolphin, L. (2016). Adolescents' definitions of bullying: The contribution of age, gender, and experience of bullying. European Journal of Psychology of Education, 31, 403-418. doi:10.1007/s10212-015-0271-8
Use OneSearch to look for a DOI (digital object identifier) or to search for a distinctive "exact phrase" from the article title. Add an author name if needed. Examples:
- doi:10.1007/s10212-015-0271-8
- "adolescents definitions of bullying"
- "adolescents definitions of bullying" AND byrne
If an article isn't available online, submit an article request.
- Request a book, article, or other itemILLiad Interlibrary Loan logon
- The newest additions to PsycINFO (especially articles with a publication status of "first posting" may not have subject terms assigned yet. While the results won't be as tightly focused, you also may want to try using subject terms as simple keywords (i.e., without requiring them to appear in a subjects field).
- Don't limit to full text when you're exploring a topic in depth. You'll miss full text that's available via Find It @ UHCL.
In databases without APA limiters for age group or methodology:
(4:53) Learn how to improve search results with official subject terms, "explode" a thesaurus term, narrow exploded results, and use major subject headings.
EBSCOhost tutorials from APA:
- In Search of Methodology(2:25) This video uses the PsycNet platform so it looks a bit different from our EBSCO version, but the search principles are basically the same.
- Using the Author Affiliation Field(3:08) How to find information about authors’ affiliations at the time of publication.
Essential Tools for Online Searching: AND, OR, and Wildcards
(1:43) Learn how logical operators AND and OR work to help you get good results in library research databases.
(1:55) Learn how to retrieve varying forms of a word and improve search results.
