Find research study articles...
Approach #1 -- OneSearch:
Sample natural language search:
how effective are pre-k programs
On results screen, add desired filters:
- scholarly and peer-reviewed
- journal article
Approach #2 -- PsycINFO & other subject databases:
Sample searches with keywords, logical operators, & wildcards:
pre-k programs AND academic achievement
(pre-k programs OR "head start") AND (academic achievement OR effective* OR advantage*)
Select peer-reviewed, publication/document type, and other limiters on initial search screen or while viewing results. Look for official subject terms, and use them to refine your search.
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
American Psychological Association (APA) content with selected full text articles from approximately 2,500 journals, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, and more - APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A small subset of PsycINFO; provides complete full text for approximately 120 journals by APA and affiliated publishers - Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (sometimes delayed for six months or more) for approximately 400 journals in psychology and related fields
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals in sociology and related areas of history, anthropology, social work, political science, psychology, and law - Education Source This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for approximately 2,850 journals, with additional coverage for books and conference papers
If needed, find more research databases in the Psychology research guide or in Databases A-Z.
Sample citation:
Currenton, S. M., Dong, N., & Shen, X. (2015). Does aggregrate school-wide achievement mediate fifth grade outcomes for former early childhood education participants? Developmental Psychology, 51, 921-934. doi:10.1037/a0039295
Use OneSearch to look for a DOI (digital object identifier) or to search for a distinctive "exact phrase" from the article title. Add an author name if needed. Examples:
- doi:10.1037/a0039295
- "does aggregate school-wide achievement"
- "does aggregate school-wide achievement" AND currenton
If an article isn't available online, submit an article request.
- Request a book, article, or other itemILLiad Interlibrary Loan logon
- The newest additions to PsycINFO (especially articles with a publication status of "first posting" may not have subject terms assigned yet. While the results won't be as tightly focused, you also may want to try using subject terms as simple keywords (i.e., without requiring them to appear in a subjects field).
- Don't limit to full text when you're exploring a topic in depth. You'll miss full text that's available via Find It @ UHCL.
In databases without APA limiters for age group or methodology:
Essential Tools for Online Searching: AND, OR, and Wildcards
(1:43) Learn how logical operators AND and OR work to help you get good results in library research databases.
(1:55) Learn how to retrieve varying forms of a word and improve search results.
