Research Guides: EXHS 5130: Epidemiology: Find Articles

MEDLINE is a collection of life science and biomedical literature appropriate for epidemiology research. MEDLINE is accessible through more than one database, each with its own search capabilities.

MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE with Full Text provides full-text for many of the most-used biomedical and health journals indexed in MEDLINE, accessible through the EBSCO interface.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed provides access to references and abstracts from MEDLINE. PubMed is free to the public, but does not provide all of the search parameters or full text available through MEDLINE with Full Text.

Using Individual Resources

While MeSH subject headings can be helpful for focusing results, sometimes they are not assigned until weeks after an article is placed in the database. To find the most recent articles, you also may want to try using keyword searches (i.e., without requiring them to appear in the subjects field).
The SU Subjects field in MEDLINE with Full Text includes both MeSH (National Library of Medicine medical subject headings) and "contributed indexing" keywords.
Don't limit to full text when you're exploring a topic in depth. You'll miss full text that's available via Find It @ UHCL.
Some limiters such as source type, which includes Academic Journals, only are available in the "Refine results" panel on the left side of search results screens

Academic Search Complete does not contain as many medical and public health journals as MEDLINE, but it does contain other journals that can be useful depending on your research topic.
Subject terms can vary from one database to another. For example, cancer is classified under the neoplasms MeSH heading in MEDLINE, but classified under cancer in Academic Seach Complete.

Enter keyword searches or choose Subject Guide Search to build your search from the database's subject headings.