Depending on your topic, these databases may be relevant. If needed, more choices are in Databases A-Z.
evidence-based practice for elderly clients
counseling "evidence-based practice"
Refine your search with filters on results screen: peer-reviewed journals, available online, etc.
For more complex searches like suicide AND (prevent* OR interven*), use Advanced Search.
While it doesn't offer some of the sophisticated options available in research databases, Google Scholar can be helpful. See instructions for customizing Google Scholar to provide Full Text @ UHCL links in results.
Most research databases allow you to limit searches to articles in peer-reviewed journals. A peer-reviewed (or refereed) journal:
(3:15) Explains the academic publishing process for research articles and scholarly journals, including the quality control process of peer review. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries
If a database lacks immediate full text, click Find It @ UHCL in results to check for full text from another source. Follow Available Online links in OneSearch to a resource with full text for UH Clear Lake users as shown below.
If full text is not found, submit an article request.
Schmit, E. L., Schmit, M. K., & Lenz, A. S. (2016). Meta-analysis of solution-focused brief therapy for treating symptoms of internalizing disorders. Counseling Outcome Research and Evaluation, 7(1), 21-39. https://doi.org/10.1177/2150137815623836
Use OneSearch to look for a DOI (digital object identifier). If there's no DOI, search for a distinctive "exact phrase" from the article title. Add an author name if needed. Examples:
If an article isn't available online, submit an article request.
|Bayou Building 2402, 2700 Bay Area Blvd, Houston, TX 77058-1002|