Clear Lake High School AP Capstone: OneSearch & Databases

Neumann Library resources for Clear Lake High School's Advanced Placement Capstone Seminar

OneSearch is like Google for the library. It searches almost all of the library's databases and catalog at once. Use the filters on the left of a results screen to refine and narrow your results.

Sample searches:

effectiveness of celebrity endorsement
Do advertisements that use celebrities work well?
"celebrity endorsements" AND consumer behavior
celebrity endors* AND (consumer behavior OR marketing)

Key General Databases

Does UHCL have Full Text for a Known Citation?

Sample citation:
Gong, W., & Li, X. (2017). Engaging fans on microblog: The synthetic influence of parasocial interaction and source characteristics on celebrity endorsement. Psychology & Marketing, 34, 720-732. doi:10.1002/mar.21018

Use OneSearch to look for a DOI (digital object identifier) or to search for a distinctive "exact phrase" from the article title. Add an author name if needed.

Examples:

  • doi:10.1002/mar.21018
  • "engaging fans on microblog"
  • "engaging fans on microblog" AND gong

 

What Is a Database?

A library database contains information about the contents of magazines, newspapers, academic journals, and sometimes books, organized in a structured way to facilitate searching. While some databases cover a wide area of interests, most focus on a specific area of study such as Politics, Literature, Agriculture, or Women's Studies.

While some databases contain Full Text of an article or document, others don't. When an individual database lacks full text for an item, click on Find It @ UHCL to check if full text is available from another source, or try looking for the article in OneSearch.

Bayou Building 2402, 2700 Bay Area Blvd, Houston, TX 77058-1002