Produced by the IEC (International Electrotechnical Commission), the organization that prepares and publishes International Standards for all electrical, electronic and related technologies. Contains all the terms and definitions in the International Electrotechnical Vocabulary or IEV.
WhatIs.com® is a knowledge exploration and self-education tool about information technology, especially about the Internet and computers. It contains over 4,500 individual encyclopedic definition/topics, a number of "Fast Reference" pages and learning tools. The topics contain about 12,000 hyperlinked cross-references between definition-topics and to other sites for further information. The site is constantly updated.
Reference Works Can Help You...
find overviews or introductions to a subject
identify possible directions for a topic you're exploring
Academic edition of Encyclopedia Britannica Online. Full text entries accompanied by video clips, images, audio, related websites, and more. Includes timelines, a world atlas, and Merriam-Webster dictionary and thesaurus.
Defines and illustrates through quotations the use of English language words from the earliest known occurance to the present day. A landmark historical resource.
BCS Glossary of Computing and ICTThis study aid and reference tool has newly updated entries and is divided into themed sections making it more than just a list of definitions. It is designed to support those taking computer courses or courses where computers are used.
Publication Date: 2013
The Engineering LanguageThis dictionary explains the major, commonly used words found in engineering documents and drawings in plain, unambiguous English. It also explains how some terms take on different meanings in different engineering contexts-vital when working on collaborative projects across different engineering disciplines. -- Based on a dictionary that was developed for engineers and technicians at Lockheed Martin.
Publication Date: 2009
Computer SciencesReviews the history of the discipline, its concepts, and profiles contributors in the field. The impact of computers on society is explored, with examples in literature and film to illustrate and support trends.