BIOT 5530 Research Methods & BIOL/BIOT 6838: Research Project & Seminar: Find Articles

Find Articles

Approach #1 -- OneSearch:



Sample natural language search:
how frogs are affected by exposure to atrazine

On results screen, add desired filters:

  • availability: peer-reviewed journals
  • resource type: articles

 

Approach #2 -- Biological Abstracts and other individual subject databases:

Sample searches with keywords, logical operators, & wildcards:
frogs AND atrazine
(frogs OR tadpoles) AND atrazine
(frogs OR tadpoles) AND (herbicides OR pesticides) AND toxic*

Select desired limiters on initial search screen or while viewing results. Look for official subject terms, and use them to refine your search if needed.

Depending on your topic, consider also:

Complete list of library research databases: Databases A-Z

Find pre-prints:

Sample citation:
Borges, RE, Santos, LRS, Benvindo-Souza, M, Modesto, RS, Assis, RA, Oliveira, C. 2019. Genotoxic evaluation in tadpoles associated with agriculture in the central Cerrado, Brazil. Arch Environ Contam Toxicol. 77:22-28.

Use OneSearch to look for a DOI (digital object identifier) or to search for a distinctive "exact phrase" from the article title. Add an author name if needed. Examples:

  • 10.1007/s00244-019-00623-y
  • "genotoxic evaluation in tadpoles"
  • "genotoxic evaluation in tadpoles" AND borges


If an article isn't available online, submit an article request.

Journal title abbreviation lookup:

  • Subject terms, while helpful for focusing results, sometimes are not assigned until after the initial posting of a record. You also may want to try using subject terms as simple keywords (i.e., without requiring them to appear in the subjects field).
  • Subject terms can vary from one database to another.
  • Don't limit to full text when you're exploring a topic in depth. You'll miss full text that's available via Find It @ UHCL.

Sample searches with varying limiters from Biological Abstracts and from Biological and Agricultural Index Plus

 

  • Results in Web of Science can be sorted by times cited (highest to lowest)

Web of Science topic search for amphibian* with a wildcard and malform* or deform* with wildcards

Loading ...

Get Full Text for an Article

If a database lacks immediate full text, click Find It @ UHCL in results to check for full text from another source. Follow Available Online links in OneSearch to a resource with full text for UH Clear Lake users as shown below.

Shows Find It at UHCL leading to full text in EBSCOhost PsycARTICLES

If full text is not found, submit an article request.

Essential Tools for Online Searching: AND, OR, and Wildcards

(1:43) Learn how logical operators AND and OR work to help you get good results in library research databases.

(1:55) Learn how to retrieve varying forms of a word and improve search results.

Loading ...
Bayou Building 2402, 2700 Bay Area Blvd, Houston, TX 77058-1002