Research Guides: ARTS 4391: Building an Exhibition: Find Articles & Journals

Find Articles in Research Databases

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles and images from journals, magazines, and books in the fine arts, commercial arts, and architecture
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primarily full text (excluding most recent 3 - 5 years) for journal articles in the humanities, social sciences, statistics, and mathematics
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Art images and associated catalog data; images from the Artstor Digital Library collection include permission for teaching, research, noncommercial scholarly, and non-profit educational use
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from approximately 1,400 journals in literature, history, the creative arts, and humanities
Project MUSE Electronic Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences

Depending on your topic, these databases also may be relevant.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals in a wide range of subjects, plus magazines, reports, books, and more
ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from ACM journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and some co-sponsored publications
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primarily full text (excluding most recent 3 - 5 years) for journal articles in the humanities, social sciences, statistics, and mathematics
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Primarily full text for news sources from around the world, including broadcast transcripts, plus law review journals, statutory, case law, and other legal resources, company and industry information, and more
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles and references from journals in science, the social sciences, and art and humanities; selected full text available via Find It @ UHCL; results can be sorted by times cited; use Cited Reference search to find works that cite an earlier article or publication

Sample searches:
"shakespeare william" AND "love or courtship or marriage"
"cat on a hot tin roof" AND (masculin* OR homosexual*)
Select limiters (articles from scholarly publications, date, etc.) on results screen

If a database lacks immediate full text, click Find It @ UHCL in results to check for full text from another source. Follow Available Online links in OneSearch to a resource with full text for UH Clear Lake users as shown below.

Shows Find It at UHCL leading to full text in EBSCOhost PsycARTICLES

If full text is not found, submit an article request.

While it doesn't offer some of the sophisticated options available in research databases, Google Scholar can be very helpful. See also Google Scholar Advanced Search. Look for Full Text @ UHCL links in results.

Creating a Good Search

State your topic or research question in your own words.
Identify the most important keywords (usually the nouns) or short, commonly used phrases.
Think of variations (singular, plural) and synonyms for your terms. It may help to check Thesaurus.com.
Create an initial search statement using connectors or logical operators (especially AND, OR) and, if appropriate, wildcards.
Try it out in one or more databases and/or Library Catalog.
Look for other good keywords and subject terms in search results.
Try revised searches until you're satisfied with the results.
Depending on the volume of results, consider narrowing or broadening your topic.
If you're having difficulties, contact us.

Find more (broaden your results) with OR and wildcards:

symbol* or figurat*

Find less (narrow your results) with AND:
impressionism and criticism

Find less with NOT:
composition not writing

Find less by selecting limiters (peer-reviewed, date, etc.).

Some databases require quotation marks for an "exact phrase".

If you're not finding enough, try simplifying your search, and remove less critical keywords or concepts.

Thesaurus.com
Answers from Roget's New Millennium Thesaurus

Britannica This link opens in a new window
Full text academic edition of Encyclopedia Britannica and Merriam-Webster Dictionary; includes video and audio clips
Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Gale’s eBook platform provides comprehensive support from many of today’s top publishers.

Oxford English Dictionary
Defines and illustrates through quotations the use of English language words from the earliest known occurance to the present day. A landmark historical resource.

(1:43) Learn how logical operators AND and OR work to help you get good results in library research databases.

(1:55) Learn how to retrieve varying forms of a word and improve search results.

Finding Scholarly Articles on Your Topic

These tutorials include practice in Neumann Library web-based resources and self-quiz questions to help you check your understanding.

Step 1: Choose a Relevant Research Database
Learn how to find subject-specific and other research databases in Databases A-Z and library research guides
Step 2: Create an Effective First Search
Learn how to choose keywords and how to use logical operators, wildcards, basic limiters, and more
Step 3: Critically Review and Refine Search Results
Learn how to identify scholarly articles and to find and use database subject terms, field, and other specialized limiters