Creating a Good Search
Find more (broaden your results) with OR and wildcards:
bilingual* [finds bilingual or bilingualism or both]
accommodat* or modif*
Find less (narrow your results) with AND:
autism and self-management
Find less with NOT:
(exceptionality or exceptionalities) not gifted*
Find less by selecting limiters (peer-reviewed, scholarly or refereed journals; date; document type; language; etc.).
In databases for a specific subject discipline, look for specialized limiters that pertain to that discipline (such as "educational level" in ERIC).
Narrow results by searching for terms in a specific field (abstract, title, subject, etc.). Subject terms (sometimes called descriptors) can vary from database to database. Using them usually improves the relevance of results so look for them in relevant citation records. Some databases also have a Thesaurus or subject terms look-up feature.
Some databases require quotation marks for an "exact phrase".
If you're not finding enough, try expanding some terms to the all text or full text field, if provided. If that doesn't help, simplify your search, and remove less critical keywords or concepts.
- Thesaurus.comAnswers from Roget's New Millennium Thesaurus
- Britannica This link opens in a new windowAcademic edition of Encyclopedia Britannica Online. Full text entries accompanied by video clips, images, audio, related websites, and more. Includes timelines, a world atlas, and Merriam-Webster dictionary and thesaurus.
- Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Gale’s eBook platform provides comprehensive support from many of today’s top publishers.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowDefines and illustrates through quotations the use of English language words from the earliest known occurrence to the present day. A landmark historical resource.
(1:57) Learn how logical operators AND and OR work to help you get good results in library research databases.
(2:05) Learn how to retrieve varying forms of a word and improve search results.
Finding Scholarly Articles on Your Topic
These tutorials include practice in Neumann Library web-based resources and self-quiz questions to help you check your understanding.
- Step 1: Choose a Relevant Research DatabaseLearn how to find subject-specific and other research databases in Databases A-Z and library research guides
- Step 2: Create an Effective First SearchLearn how to choose keywords and how to use logical operators, wildcards, basic limiters, and more
- Step 3: Critically Review and Refine Search ResultsLearn how to identify scholarly articles and to find and use database subject terms, field, and other specialized limiters
See also:
