Research Guides: History: Find Articles & Journals

Find Articles and More!

Recommended databases for finding articles on a range of history topics

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primarily full text (excluding most recent 3 - 5 years) for journal articles in the humanities, social sciences, statistics, and mathematics
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from journals on U.S. and Canadian history and culture with some coverage of books and conference papers
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for journal and magazine articles, books, and more on world history and related social science literature with a focus on areas outside the U.S. and Canada
Project MUSE Electronic Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text articles from approximately 1,400 journals in literature, history, the creative arts, and humanities
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text of journals, magazines, newspapers, and books on all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. Previously called Bibliography of Native North Americans
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Full text encyclopedia articles, biographical entries, primary sources, images, and more relevant to African American studies and Africa and diaspora studies
American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of American magazines, journals, and newspapers that began publication between 1740-1940; coverage ends in June 1943; includes page view
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1851-2015; includes page view

While it doesn't offer some of the sophisticated options available in research databases, Google Scholar can be very helpful. See also Google Scholar Advanced Search. Look for Full Text @ UHCL links in results.

A peer-reviewed (or refereed) journal:

uses experts from the same subject field or profession as the author to evaluate a manuscript prior to acceptance for publication
has articles that report on research studies or provide scholarly analysis of topics
may include book reviews, editorials, or other brief items that are not considered scholarly articles

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
Explains key elements from the first & last page of a typical scholarly or academic article. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

History

Find Articles and More!

Recommended databases for finding articles on a range of history topics

Peer Review in 3 Minutes